We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Serendipity House to your Saves list
Serendipity House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT489AY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Derry B&B and Inns
Swinford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“what a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a compact but lovely room with a great view over the city - good hot shower, wifi, tv really comfortable bed nice bedlinen - everything you could want. Breakfast was continental style but with the owners freshly baked scones and croissants - i was sorry i didnt try the cooked breakfast for a very reasonable £3.50 extra - it will be good and there were plenty of options to choose but next time,,,,,
The owners were lovely ppl - friendly, informative with excellent knowledge of the city. The Serendipity was in easy walking distance of everything, parking wasn't a problem - we just had a really great time,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
58
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped for 1 night in Derry and I must say I was pleasantly impressed by this guest house. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the view at night was just breathtaking. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The location also is very convenient. I would recommend this guest house without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Three of us stayed here and we were instantly impressed with a view of the city from the breakfast room and the decor. The room was perfect and the mattresses were unbelievably comfortable.
The city centre was within strolling distance. Within a few minutes we were in a lovely restaurant.
Would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of four shared a family room at Serendipity for one night. We had a very enjoyable stay! The location is central, lots of parking outside and the B&B is very charming. The room was comfortable and quiet, and breakfast in the morning was lovely. Stephen was a fantastic host who gave us all kinds of useful tourist information. Would highly recommend this Bed and breakfast to other travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Derry, and the Serendipity House was fantastic. Great location, rooms, and food, and Stephen was an excellent host. The location was perfect for walking to and from the major attractions in town. I wouldn't of stayed anywhere else. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I brought 10 university students for an overnight, and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The location is great, with a quiet street overlooking the Bogside. Very convenient to all of the sights and attractions. The rooms are beautiful, neat and beds are divine, with tea and coffee available in the rooms. Stephen is an excellent host and cooks a delicious Ulster Fry for breakfast (including a vegetarian version) with extra fruit, yogurt and scones. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just back from a long weekend where we stayed at the Serendipity for two nights. Initially a little worried about where the B&B was located. In a street just up from the Bogside area of town it didnt appear to be the best, but this was unfounded as we soon found that it was handy for walking into the town centre and to the City walls.

Inside the B&B it is a little tired in its decor but the beds were clean and comfortable, with nice towels and linen. We had a top floor room in the attic which was rather cramped for 2 people and luggage. Some might say the bathroom was a good use of space available, but on a practical level, it was just too small. The was hand basin was the smallest I think you can buy. We had an issue with the shower door as the first use on moving the shower door, it came off the hinges and leaked into downstairs. We managed to fix ourselves by actually having to turn the door inside out to sit correctly as the door had been knocked off and someone previously had hooked it onto the top runner.

The breakfast selection was good and for a small charge of £3.95 you can have a cooked breakfast or French toast and bacon cooked freshly for you. A good start to a day of walking round the town.

Stephen was good on his local knowledge and recommendations of the area. For the amount paid per person per night, it was fine for a no frills centrally located stay.

Room Tip: Inside the B&B it is a little tired in its decor but the beds were clean and comfortable, with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT489AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.