We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 glasgow girls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Serendipity House to your Saves list
Serendipity House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT489AY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 45 Derry B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 glasgow girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

when we arrived at serendipity house we were greeted by the owner Stephen who was very pleasant and left us in the capable hands of Shirley who showed us to our room which was lovely and clean, had an en suite and an amazing view from the window! We were given a key to come and go as we please. After being out all day we would come back and sit in the lounge to watch tv. We had a tv in the room, but we loved to sit downstairs and chat to stephen and his mum Charlotte and dad Paul. I have never been to a b & b and given such a warm welcome!! Paul told us it would only cost £2.50 to get a cab back from town but the walk in to town isn't far, downhill and uphill on the way back which we weren't looking forward to, but enjoyed immensly! Thank you so much for making the 3 of us sooooo welcome!! xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    39
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
58
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My two friends and I had a comfortable and very enjoyable stay at the Serendipity House on our first trip to Derry this weekend and couldn't have asked for better hosts, (Charlotte, Paul and Stephen), the lovely owners of this cosy little Guest House. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel very welcome and gave us some good tips on places of interest to see. The Continental breakfast was also very nice and we would have no hesitation at all in recommending the Serendipity to anyone looking for a warm welcome to Derry. Lilian, Catherine and Margaret.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Serendipity House in Derry with a prepaid reservation. We based our decision on what we had read from others who had stayed there and it all seemed ok. Well, when we arrived, the owner wasn't there but a nice guest greeted us. So we waited and waited for the owner to come and check us in and show us to our room. The room was WAY TO SMALL with a queen bed in the main room and a cot with a horrible mattress that was in what could only be described as a foyer off the bathroom. That was my bed! And the bathroom was so small and so badly designed, I couldn't stand in front of the sink because the toilet was there. And then we took our showers which flooded the bathroom floor and ended up seeping through the ceiling and onto the ground floor sitting room. The owner and this guest banged on our door and threw towels at us and said no more showering. Sleeping that night simply didn't happen as it was too hot and no fan or ventilation of any kind. So, the next morning we went down to the breakfast room which looked out over the rear yard which was full of rubbish from a remodel. The breakfast was very skimpy. We spoke with the owner and asked for our money back and he REFUSED AND WALKED AWAY. HOW RUDE!
We were in Ireland for 18 days and this was the only B&B that was HORRIBLE. All the others were over the top wonderful with very gracious hosts and I have reviewed all of those on TripAdvisor with glorious praise.
I can't say enough HORRIBLE things about this place and this owner. Do yourself a favor and DON'T STAY HERE.

Room Tip: My tip is don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulderry, Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Im soo sorry that this guest has felt the need to be so critical and highly in acurate about her experience, as we all know as accommodation providers that there is as in life a small minority who choose to deliberalty sully peoples reputation without just cause or care, i can only hope that this will not detract or influence future guests, we have had thousands of guests through our doors ovrer the past few years who have enjoyed every aspect of there stay with us and we hope that this will continue in time to come,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My friend and I arrived at different times to Serendipity-only 10minutes apart but by the time she walked in the front door I knew that we were going to love staying here. I could hardly chat to her as Paul,the owner, together with his son Stephen, were busy telling me all the places we could go and things to see and do. The downstairs sitting room which you can have full access to with free internet all day was very tastefully decorated. Gorgeous puppets of various characters, including Pinocchio adorned this room which made it all very homely. Our room, although smallish had an en suite shower and toilet. We walked down town that evening and back up again later! Some will not manage this due to the hills but again Paul reassured us that a taxi cab would only cost £2.50 from the town centre. Once again Paul was very helpful and advised us of various venues and restaurants. The next morning we had a wonderful relaxed atmosphere with Paul's wife helping with the magnificent breakfasts-fab! Very nice people who made us so welcome-I'm going with my daughter again at the end of the month!! Thank you all xxx

Room Tip: Back rooms offer a view to the 'walls of Derry', + St. Eugene's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromahair, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Serendipity is motivated by excellent personal service and individual attention in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Stephen shared his local knowledge with us and made our stay and exploration of the city so enjoyable. The breakfast was very tasty and a real substantial start to the day. The location is very convenient and a very quiet street. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. We enjoyed the craic and we would highly recommend Serendipity. We look forward to returning there. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived late in the day, and after a few wrong turns, and one way streets, we arrived at this little gem of a B&B. At first we were a bit apprehensive about the neighborhood, but soon realized it was a great location, and perfectly safe. Obviously tourists need to exercise care wherever they travel. Our hosts, Paul and Stephen were most gracious and helpful in giving directions and suggestions about places to visit and restaurants. Serendipity House is within walking distance to the Walled City, where we found a great walking tour, lovely shopping and wonderful Irish food. The rooms are on the smallish side, which is to be expected of this refurbished neighborhood, but they were adequate, and spotlessly clean. These folks provided the most comfortable beds and luxurious bedding, of all the places we stayed during our three week visit in this beautiful country. We did not choose the full hot Irish breakfast, for an extra charge, because the provided Continental breakfast was lovely, and more than adequate. The breakfast room was bright and cheery with a view of the walled city. We highly recommend Serendipity House to visitors to Derry City, and will choose to stay here again on a future visit. Great value for the cost.

Room Tip: Don't judge this B&B by it location. Our street facing 2nd floor room was nice and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niseko
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This has to be the most appalling hotel I have ever stayed in...or should I call it a hostel.
We booked through bookings.com under the impression that my 23 and 21 year old chjildren and I had a "family" room with 2 double and 1 single bed. This is what it stated! When we arrived, there was one double bed and 1 single bed. I queried this with the young man who checked us in and he was adamant that it stated on all of the sites they were on that there were only 2 beds. Not so if he actually looked!
That was only the start of the horrid experience:
The shower attachment was coming away from the wall.
The shower recess sealing was falling off which meant that the floor outside the shower was covered with water.
There was no bath mat provided.
There was also no soap in the bathroom and when my son went to ask for some, he was told that it was not provided. Staggering.
Overall, a terrible experience. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i feel deeply saddened that the guest felt this way about our accommodation, i would like to assure future guests that this review is far from the truth as our many other reviews will indeed confirm, i'm just glad to see that petulance and bad will still exists in the world. finally a pictures says a thousand words, please have a look and decide for yourself, many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT489AY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.