We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in a cozy hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy's Palace Derry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paddy's Palace Derry to your Saves list
Paddy's Palace Derry
1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“A night in a cozy hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was a nice place, really quiet cause there was almost no one else in that day. Kitchen is small but very clean and nice, lovely terrace and huge couches, piano and everything. We just spent a night but would stay more if we could!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    26
    19
    17
    29
See reviews for
2
19
68
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

we had to stay in their extra house which is 40 metres from their main building. there was no hot water for showers. no toilet paper!! how hard is that? their main house was full with their own paddy wagons tour bus and we felt that they were just happy to forget about everyone else. there was no common area and only a very small kitchen. the room had too many beds. there was nothing positive that i could say about this place. we even lost our key deposit as no one was there to return it in the morning at 8am. we waited 10 minutes but the staffs didnt show up. we had to leave angry. bad place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Clean, ordinary hostel by most standards, but the staff were really great. Very helpful and nice and even offered to switch my room when my roommates were too noisy. It's in a good location, easily walkable, and has a great common room. I liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethel island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very pleasant place to stay in Derry; friendly and comfortable. Good atmosphere, congenial. The outdoor patio area was a good spot to relax or socialize. Location was convenient for walking, seeing the sights, and close to bus and train station.
It was clean and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Paddy's palace in Belfast, Derry, and Dublin...this was definitely our favorite location. Make sure you do the walking tour! Small lockers are available if you inquire. The staff was awesome which is what separated this hostel from any other we've stayed at - it felt like a big group of friends. Needless to say, the craic was 90!!!!
-Robert & Emily, TX

Room Tip: The kitchen/common room in the other building doesn't have a curfew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed two nights here. Absolutely disgusting. When we arrived in the room, it was visibly dirty and had obviously not been cleaned in some time. I had to speak to staff three times about getting it vacuumed before anything was done about it.

The bathroom, again is far from clean, and is covered in pink and black mould. On the second day when we alerted staff to the fact that the bathroom was dirty and there was no toilet paper, we were told that the girl who cleans was out on a trip, so it would be cleaned later in the evening. We also had to share 3 bathrooms amongst 7 8people dorm rooms.

As far as bedding goes, it's hard to tell whether the sheets have actually been changed. On arrival, the sheets looked as though they had been pulled tight and the duvet folded, rather than fresh sheets. The traces of hair on the beds was also very unnerving.

In general, the staff were unwelcoming and made continual excuses as to why the rooms and bathrooms had not been cleaned, they also made no effort to deal quickly with issues brought to their attention. I would not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cheap hostel with a perfect location and breakfast is included. Staff is very friendly and you can easily talk with them. They will help you in any way they can !! Too bad I stayed in another building than the one where the common room was. It was a bit quiet but I just walked 2 meters to go into the common room and have fun with the staff ! I had a great time there and I definitely recommend this hostel for cheap holidays !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddy's Palace Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace Derry

Address: 1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry BT29HG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Paddy's Palace Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddy's Palace Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy's Palace Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.