We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfoot hotel Londonderry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfoot Hotel Derry

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waterfoot Hotel Derry to your Saves list
The Waterfoot Hotel Derry
Caw Roundabout, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Kirkcaldy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Waterfoot hotel Londonderry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent a very nice night at the Waterfoot hotel in Londomderry. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good , and we would certainly like to,go back there again. .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a low cost but excellent hotel - I have stayed in places with double the nightly rate of The Waterfoot and not been so satisfied. I arrived at Derry Airport at about 8am with plans to explore the town until check-in time. Heavy rainfall thwarted my intentions so I went straight to the hotel - many hours before check-in time - with the intention of handing in my bags for safe keeping and waiting about in the bar or coffee lounge. However, the kindly and efficient receptionist took one look at my damp, windswept appearance and arranged for a room to be made available immediately. giving me the opportunity to shower, tidy up and rest. I call that the best of customer service. The room itself was excellent, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Food - I used the snug bar in preference to the restaurant - was excellent; wide ranging choice and fair prices - and the drinks were not costly. I spent two nights here and, when I return to Derry, plan to spend quite a few more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Hotel is well situated on the ring road roundabout making it very convenient to everywhere.
There are two decent shopping centres nearby.
The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with tea/coffee making, hair dryer and iron.
Wifi was not available in the room due to some ? transient issue. However it was available in the comfortable lobby. It's in a quiet area not within walking distance to the city centre but it is a short taxi ride.
the staff had the usual northern friendliness.
I would stay there again - provided the WiFi is fixed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here this week, checked in the reception is very modern , staff wasn't overly pleasant, didn't give us a wifi code - when we asked for the code the girl handed us 12 A4 pages of wifi codes ! Which was such a waste - and half the time the wifi didn't work!!
went to our room it felt like we went back in time, the rooms are so dated, they are clean but the bathroom looked like it was ready to fall apart!, the rooms are Sooo HOT, the radiators weren't even on, no air con in the room ! Room also over looked the main road on the bridge so it was pretty noisey!!
Overall I wouldn't stay here again I would pay a little extra to have nicer customer service and a little bit of hotel luxury !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just spent a week at the Waterfoot Hotel. From the outside it doesn't strike you as anything special and a little 1970's but as soon as you walk into the reception everything changes with very modern decor and great staff. In all honesty all the staff we met were super friendly which is a rarity. Restaurant is great and the food faultless. Most meals are £10 whereas they could get away with charging double this. Then you walk through into the snug which is a totally different world again.

The only part of the experience that let it down was the drab dated rooms but then it is quite cheap.

Room Tip: As for one of the updated ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfoot Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfoot Hotel Derry

Address: Caw Roundabout, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Waterfoot Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfoot Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfoot Hotel Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.