We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel,great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel to your Saves list
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely hotel,great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

stayed for one night for my hen party and couldn't say enough good things about the staff in all parts of hotel from reception,restaurant, bar and nite club. everybody was so helpful. lovely room with everything you could want. the food was fantastic. our cocktail making session was brilliant and a great addition to our nite. would recommend davinci's to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘MichelleI,’
It is lovely to hear from you and I am happy that you enjoyed our ‘Here Come the Girls’ package. This is a really popular package and I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed it. On behalf of all the staff at Da Vinci’s Hotel I would like to wish you the very best of luck for your impending wedding. We hope to welcome you and your new husband to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the near future.
Take care,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    152
    55
    20
    24
See reviews for
92
147
19
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Lovely room with everything you could want. Reception staff friendly & helpful. Saturday night is party night so if you can't sleep through booming music then ask for a room at the opposite end. The noise didn't really bother us but we can sleep through most things. It's an Irish mile into Derry but a lovely walk along the river if the weather is good. There is a frequent bus service a couple of hundred metres away. £1.50 each (£2.50 day ticket). A taxi is about £3. There's a Multiplex cinema & bowling complex a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast is your typical self service set up. Hot and cold food etc. No complaints. No air con in room as far as I could see which could be a problem in Hot weather - we stayed on a warm September weekend and air con would have been welcome, especially on the Saturday night when we had to have the windows open with the all the noise going on. There's a busy pub/bar on site which was very pleasant. Airport taxi about £12.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘littlesisterWales,’
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

paid just under £100 for 2 nights which included breakfast-spacious room with 2 double beds.
staff welcoming. Good bar for evening drinks. Bit out of main town(over a mile walk) but good regular bus service or taxi for only £3.50. The only real criticism was no air conditioning. Yes it was warm for September but rooms must be quite hot in high summer. However the cost more than compensated for that.Overall ideal for weekend break in a lovely city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘WelshAnnie,’
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

stayed for two nights 19th 20th sept 13 rooms were very comfortable and clean food was great staff made you feel at home if going back to londonderry would stay here again very easy to find after coming off foyle bridge plenty off shops nearby stayed with family and friends and they put all are rooms together

Room Tip: you can walk the waterway from hotel to new peace bridge on new walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘clivebridges26,’
Thank you for your kind comments. It is very encouraging for the staff that their efforts are being noticed by our guests and that they made such a positive impact to your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was at a lunch in the hotel on Tuesday 24th September, which was fine, the function staff where first class.When the function room closed, we where asked to move to the main bar. This is when the service took a massive down turn. The bar was not overly busy, but on at least three occasions I had to clear our table and take the glasses to the bar. This was also the case for all of our company (over 20 people). Half of our company decided later in the evening to go to the restaurant for a meal. The service and quality of the food they received was poor. When they complained about the tartlet started the response was "we will inform the chef" nothing further was done. For the remainder of the company in the bar, I asked for some baskets of chips to be taken to our table. I was advised the restaurant was busy and it would take a while. After two hours I went to ask where the snacks where, I was told the chef said he was too busy and we would not be getting any snacks. We left very disappointed customers indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘RovingIrishMan,’
Thank you for providing your feedback. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable lunch but I am disappointed that you had an issue with our bar service. I have passed on your issues to our Food and Beverage Manager who will investigate the matter further. I am sincerely sorry that you didn't have a good experience and I hope that you will give us an opportunity to redeem your opinion of our offering. I am confident that your experience was a one off and that our team will impress you during your next visit.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our 5th or 6th return visit - that says it all! Excellent room and restaurant where the staff are particularly helpful. Tiny niggle: extractor in spotless ensuite failed to work but we didn't report. Also breakfast in warmers could be kept hotter for those arriving at 9.30-10.00 am. That said we eagerly await our next visit.

Room Tip: Recommend Club Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘Philoco,’
It is lovely to hear from a loyal customer and I am delighted that we continue to impress you. It is a pity that you didn’t report your extractor fan issues because it can be easily fixed, in the future please do report any problems to reception we want to ensure all our guests have a faultless experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Keep an eye out on our website we have some fantastic Winter Offers available.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a perfectly comfortable room in a newish hotel with a good restaurant. The bed was great and we slept well. The two downsides for us were: 1. the location. It's about a 25-minute walk from Derry (along the river which is nice), but it means you can't just pop back and forth into town. On another trip we would stay closer into town. 2. the wifi connection was a nightmare. My husband was in Derry on business and I was managing properties back home and we struggled with their wifi service the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ‘alisontinsley48,’
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience. It is a pity that you found our location as a negative as many guests feel the benefit of complimentary car parking available for all guests outweighs the short walk into the city centre. Secondly I am disappointed you and your husband had an issue with our complimentary Wi-Fi service. We rarely receive complaints about this service and it is a pity the problem was not reported to reception as we could have rectified any issues. We look forward to welcoming you both back to our hotel soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Ramada Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.