We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights, Save 30%
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Derry
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here at the weekend, had lovely two nights in a twin room, eat in hotel one night , really enjoyed our meal, but only criticism are the dining room chairs, they need replacing as the springs are worn out! , I will go back as te bar is an attraction, so lively and you can't hear a thing in your room , stafff so friendly also, all in all a great experience

Room Tip: We hadn't a good view but that didn't really bother me, you need a room to the front of hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear ‘Patti39’,

Nice to hear from you and I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We continuous maintain and upgrade our facilities and I have passed on your comments to our general manager in reference to our dining room chairs. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    133
    44
    16
    22
See reviews for
77
133
19
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed there at the end of July 2012. Ample parking; friendly staff at reception. Good quality room. Restaurant meal represented excellent value for money and the food was delicious. The bar is one of the best we've been to on our travels around Ireland - fantastic ambience. If you have not paid for breakfast there is a Sainsbury's less than half a mile from the hotel which offers a full breakfast for less than 5 Euros.

Room Tip: If you have not paid for breakfast there is a Sainsbury's less than half a mile from the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear ‘John1964’,

Thank you for your positive feedback, guest comments motivates our staff and allows them to see the impact that their exceptional service has on our guests. Our Main Bar is an award winning traditional Irish Bar that is loved by locals and hotel residents, so I am not surprised to receive your kind comments but it is nice to be reminded by newcomers to the hotel that it continually impresses them. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and hope you had an enjoyable visit to the City.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for one night. Staff at reception are the friendliest and most welcoming that I have ever come across (both at check in and when leaving). Rooms are nice and modern. TV channels were fairly limited (no children's satellite channels as specified on hotel website) but this is not something I would complain about. Great value dinner menu. However, we were waiting for a very long time between main course and dessert (2 hours 15 minutes in total for dinner) with some very restless children so that spoiled the experience of what is probably a very good restaurant. Breakfast was very good. Be sure to ask for the bill in sterling as the card machine added an extra €7 on top of the conversion rate when I paid in the restaurant - this is not the fault of the hotel and has happened to me before in the North when the amount is converted to euro, but it is something to be aware of. Overall, this is a very nice hotel and I would return if staying in Derry.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear ‘Aingeal’,

Nice to hear from you and I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our reception team. It is unfortunate that you did not contact reception in regard to the problems you were experiencing viewing the children’s channels in your room, all of our TV’s do have these channels as standards and your television must have need to be reset to allow you to view them. I am surprised to hear you had a lengthy wait during dinner our staffs aim to provide an efficient service especially for those guests with young children, the only reason for this type of wait would be due to an extremely busy dinner sitting. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Da Vinci’s Hotel and we hope you to visit Derry soon so we can welcome you back again.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I wasnt staying at the Ramada DV as it was fully booked ,however i went there for a meeting with other company staff. On arriving at the hotel i was astounded at the ample car parking facilites unlike the cramped underground one at my city centre hotel. We had a meal in the very elegant restaurant were Erin was very attentive and helpful the food was of a very high standard and good value for money ,we then moved to the bar which is beautifully laid out with a mahogony and seperate pine area the bar staff were very efficient and freindly especally 'Patsy who was simply superb nothing was a bother .
i would have no hesitation in recommending ths hotel to my famly and friends .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear ‘Derek-chin’,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Da Vinci’s Hotel. As you mentioned we are fortunate to have a large car park which can accommodate up to 250 cars but yet still provide guests with a location that is a short walk from the city centre. I am pleased to hear that our staff impressed you and I will ensure both Erin and Patsy receive your kind feedback. It was unfortunate that during your recent meeting at the hotel we had no availability for you to stay hopefully next time you get the opportunity to overnight at Da Vinci’s and we continue to exceed your expectations.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the Ramada Da Vinci's last week during what was a mad busy time for the City during the Clipper Homecoming Festival (which was brilliant by the way, don't miss any future festivals and events in the city, they really know how to do it!)

The stay was great. The room was clean, bright and welcoming, the staff friendly and efficient and not showing any sign of strain at all.

I love my hotel breakfasts and this one didn't let down - I could hardly get enough of the fresh, toasted wheaten bread! And really fab black and white pudding which is another favourite of mine.

Driving out to it from the city centre felt like longer than it really is. I walked back into the centre along the tow path which is a gorgeous walk, 15 mins tops, it really isn't far at all.

Overall, loved my stay and would go back any time - and hope to do so!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear ‘SiobhanMcGui’,

Nice to hear from you and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the Clipper Homecoming Festival, it was a fantastic two weeks for the city.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff we are very fortunate to have a brilliant team and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them all.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location for River walk along to town. Staff very efficient & friendly. Great pub-style bar with loads of atmosphere also nice restaurant. Would definitely stay again. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear ‘Lindsay B’,

We have been inundated with wonderful comments from our guests who stayed with us during the Clipper Homecoming festival, it was a brilliant time to visit the city and we are pleased that at Da Vinci’s Hotel we could add to your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back to the city soon.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

4th visit to this hotel Rooms spotless easy access great parking facilities Breakfast very good
bar and restaurant excellent ,staff very friendly and helpful . having stayed as wedding guests we discovered this hidden little gem in the city of my birth . we are now booked again for a little break in August well done

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear ‘Needsrdrenk’,

Nice to hear from you and it is lovely to receive such positive feedback from a guest who has stayed with us a number of times. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s in August.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Ramada Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery.Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast to have the largest bedrooms in the City, these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building.On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices.For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking.At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.