We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nomination for an award for excellence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 8 Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Number 8 Guesthouse to your Saves list
Number 8 Guesthouse
8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nomination for an award for excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This must be the most welcoming Guest house in Europe, or far beyond. The hosts' prioritization of the person, and their meeting all needs, e.g. transport, catering, value accommodation, comfort, kind, personal care and concern, attention to every detail, space and freedom. Their overall hospitality was outstanding. I can confirm the details already outlined in previous reviews.

I wish to nominate Karen and Bob, and No.8 Deanfield, for an award for excellence in all aspects of genuine caring, and all aspects of very fine accommodation.

Room Tip: Every room in this house meets the highest standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for such lovely comments. We always strive to meet our guests' requirements and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We're so glad you had such a positive experience and do visit us again.
K.T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A wonderful guesthouse. Every conceiveable need was catered for. My clothes were ironed, coffee and scones provided while we watched the 6 Nations rugby, the bed was heated, and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Ross. It was a pleasure having you and perhaps we'll see you again on future trips to Derry.
Karen T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at number 8 guest house with my young daughter just before Christmas. Had a fantastic stay in very comfortable and beautifully decorated accommodation. Karen was a helpful host and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our walk through the park and the peace bridge brought us to the centre of Derry City in a few minutes. Can't wait to visit again next month.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us Bernardine and Louisa. It was lovely having you both and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit to our lovely city. We're looking forward to seeing you again in January.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed with Bob and Karen at Number 8 for 2 nights and only wish it had been longer! We arrived to find their home beautifully decorated for Christmas ... Our room was lovely, luxurious and spacious (the ensuite was gleaming!). It was all the little touches which made our stay so special - the Egyptian cotton sheets, the decor, the lavendar diffuser in the ensuite, the denby tableware at breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful, Karen makes a super fruit salad, the Ulster fry was perfect and it is all served up with a dash of Bob's humour!! They are wonderful hosts, a mine of information about where to go and where to eat and even offered us a lift to the restaurant of our choice... we came away feeling as if we had made new friends and will MOST definitely be back in the near future! A real find in Derry!

Room Tip: Room at front of the property, decorated in gold and cream - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us David and Elaine and we are delighted that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

First time to stay at Number 8 and it won't be the last. Greeted with a warm welcome, tea, pastry and shortbread. House is spacious and decor outstanding. Our ensuite was beautiful, large warm bedroom, tv, comfy bed, tea & coffe making facilities with lovely biscuits. There's also a small fridge on the landing with chilled water to cure those morning hangovers. The b&b is in a quiet location next to St Columb's Park and just over 5 min walk to Ebrington Square where you can walk the peace bridge to the city centre. There's a bus stop at the top of Deanfield, an all day ticket is £2.30 which means you can hop on and off buses to the city centre. Karen was kind enough to give us a lift over town.
Breakfast...what can I say.....Brilliant. Karen and Bob who are excellant hosts provided orange juice, grapefruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, selection of cereals, tea/coffee, toast, wheaten bread, warm home made scones. As for the fry it was the hottest we have ever eaten at a b&b. There's sausages, choice of eggs, bacon, black pudding, white pudding, tomato, mushrooms. A perfect stay, booked again for next August. Thank you Karen & Bob

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us Carol and Gillian. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We loved having you and look forward to seeing you again in August if not before! Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had an absolutely perfect stay at Number 8! This was our first stop in NI after two weeks in the Republic. We arrived in Derry just after dark and promptly lost our way... but Karen and Bob rescued us! These folks are so friendly and kind. From the impeccable and lovely decor to the luxurious linens, this guesthouse is stunning. It is on a quiet street, but very convenient to the town center. Just across the Peace Bridge, it is a lovely walk to and from Number 8. We really appreciated Bob showing us the sights and stunning views. I highly recommend Number 8 to anyone who wants a beautiful and friendly place to rest - this was by far our favorite B&B in NI. Thanks very much to Bob and Karen!! Linette & Romeo

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much Linette and Romeo for your lovely review. You were lovely guests and we loved having you to stay. Perhaps we will get a chance to meet again. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

stayed at no.8 had a great time, beautiful home, lovely tea and scones when we arrived, house is very clean and luxurious, our bedroom was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Karen and bob very friendly and when out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable, would loved to have stayed longer, would not stay anywhere else if we visit Derry in the future. would recommend this b&b to anyone. best wishes for the future regards mary&terry Warrenpoint co. down.

Room Tip: always read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Mary and Terry, thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you will come back another time. Thanks for the lovely honey!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 8 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.