We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 8 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Number 8 Guesthouse to your Saves list
Number 8 Guesthouse
8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This is very convenient and pretty walk to the old walled city, but feels so comfortable with their garden and spacious house. Had very warm welcome from the hosts and felt like a personal guest of theirs. Overall this was my most comfortable stay anywhere after 3 weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us David. We try to make our guests feel at home and as comfortable as possible. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
45
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First time we have stayed over in Londonderry and a very enjoyable experience it was. The B & B is in a very good location, near the Ebrington Barracks, the peace bridge and within easy walking distance from the Guildhall. Our room was bright and cheery with tea making facilities and a modern ensuite (Could do with a hair drier) .Bob and Karen looked after us very well and provided an excellent breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and just to let you know all rooms now have a hairdryer! Hope to see you again in the future.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at number 8 as part of our motorcycle tour of Ireland. The room was furnished to a very high standard with everything we could need and spotlessly clean. We were welcomed by Karen on arrival with tea and cake and provided with maps of the city and excellent recommendations to make the most of our stay. Bob and Karen were fantastic hosts who welcomed us into their house as if we were part of the family. Our stay was perfect on all accounts and we would recommend anyone stopping in Derry to stay at number 8.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Andy. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland. Maybe we'll get the chance to meet again. Regards Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and found the quality of accommodation very good.
We arrived very late and were met with the offer of tea and coffee from the friendly owner.
The accommodation was spotless and very nicely furnished and decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the owner was very trusting when we discovered that the accommodation did not accept cards !!!
One we minor niggle, no hairdyer. Sort that out and 10/10.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments Jeanie and just to let you know we now have a hairdryer available. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a perfect way to end my cycling adventures through Ireland with a visit to Number 8 Guest House, Deanfield. It was like a little slice of heaven! Karen and Bob were incredibly gracious hosts and welcomed me as if I was a member of the family. Everything was perfect. They welcomed me to their family table with delicious, healthy meals, the rooms were fit for a queen complete with cozy, comfy bedding and beautiful decor. Wonderful treats can be discovered around every corner, including a chance to take a luxurious soak in the deep victorian tub.
Ahhhhhh! Just heaven! This beautiful spot can't be beat! The guest house is within walking distance to the great city center so rich culture and entertainment are just footsteps away. I can't wait to get back to visit Karen and Bob again in their beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review Anna. It was so good of you to take the time. We really enjoyed having you stay and loved all the stories about your travels. You certainly got around our little country. Be sure to come back to us when next here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Leave your worries behind and enjoy the serenity, great service and comfort. Very convenient to a wonderful historical city center.
Karen and Bob are excellent hosts and will pamper you with comfort, delight and a fabulous breakfast. My first time to Derry and such a wonderful experience all around.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and our lovely city Carol. I hope it won't be too long before you return. We really enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you next time. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at No 8 Deanfield and everything about our stay was wonderful. Karen & Bob were perfect hosts- so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We were welcomed with fresh filter coffee and cakes (where else would you receive this), and they would not accept any extra payment for this. We sat in the conservatory looking out on to the beautiful garden and we were so relaxed we could have sat there all night! Bob even offered to take us down town when we asked if they could recommend somewhere to eat.The house itself was gorgeous, luxurious and spotless and in a great location. The bed was so comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. As mentioned in previous reviews all the wee extras made this stay extra special and we will definitely stay again in the future when back in Derry. Forgot to mention that another guest left some luggage behind and Bob drove all round town to get this back to them. Thanks again to two lovely people. Best wishes Gina & John

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Gina and John. We try to make everyone as comfortable as possible and will continue to do so. It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely review. Hopefully we will get a chance to meet again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 8 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.