We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brewer's Fayre

Brewer's Fayre
Crescent Link | Waterside, Derry, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 147 Restaurants in Derry
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went to the bar an ordered a pint of Guinness a salad and bowl of chips, paid for everything, the barman said he would bring the pint down to the table which he forgot about, also said the salad would be 25 mins wait, I had to go back to the bar and queue again with ten 8/10 people there in front of me to get my drink, then the dry salad arrived with no dressing , the mayo was rotten no flavour at all, and looked like fresh cream, chips were poor, the rest of the salad was fine, and the Guinness was very bad , so no to impressed

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    12
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Really good offers at the restaurant. Had the chicken takeaway on the Saturday nite, lovely, really good choices. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and fresh. Staff were very helpful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Less haste, more speed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Decided to eat out this evening and although the restaurant was quite busy, we didn't have long to wait on a table (for 2). The floor staff were very pleasant and explained how to place our order at the bar, however, this is when it went wrong. The bar staff were so 'run off their feet' serving alcohol that those wishing to order food had to wait at the bar for approx. 10 minutes. On taking our order, the male 'bartender' was in so big a rush he struggled to make eye contact with us as we were speaking to him, he missed some of our order which meant we had to re-order from the table and go back up and pay for it on a separate bill. Then when I pointed this out, he wasn't really bothered, saying that I probably hadn't ordered it in the first place ! I know he was only one of many staff but nonetheless, I wasn't happy. Our food was piping hot and overall quite good. No sooner had I put down my cutlery than our plates were lifted - too big of a rush, not a feeling of being out for a relaxing dinner - slow down or you'll miss orders and create a feeling of rushing customers out the door ! I'll probably be back to see if the service has improved.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Called at Brewers Fayre while waiting to check in at Premier Inn. Decided to have a bar snack, chicken baguette with bbq sauce. This arrived with chips and coleslaw, enough for 2 people and was delicious. We decided to book in for the buffet later that evening which was reasonably priced at under £10 for 2 courses (soup and salad selection and main meal) The main meal was turkey ,roast beef, gammon, Yorkshire pudding, roast & mashed potatoes, carrotts, peas, cabbage, gravy. The food was 1st class and the staff were friendly and attentive. Will definately visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Does What It Says On The Tin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's not exactly a la carte, but it does what it say it's going to do and provides reasonable, average food at a very good price.

Don't expect to go for top class food, but staff are friendly, the food is ok, and it's fine if you're in a hurry or can't be bothered cooking of a night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's Fayre also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Brewer's Fayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewer's Fayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.