We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Derry to your Saves list
Travelodge Derry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Complete surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was the annual Christmas market stop over in Londonderry, this time we decided to try out the very inexpensive Travelodge on Strand Road. Our expectations very very low, coming in at £43 per room. The room was huge, two double twin beds, very clean and had coffee making facilities. The bathroom was compact but had everything needed. The surprise, we slept better in this hotel than we've slept in most 5 star rated hotels, actually we slept in the next morning and missed breakfast! The hotel is very central to the shops, the only problem was parking, no on site parking, public car parks surround the hotel though!

Room Tip: The hotel has a series of steps to reception but there is a lift on the ground floor tucked away in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Harry140,

Many thanks for your recent review for Travelodge Derry, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    49
    68
    54
    78
See reviews for
42
108
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Due to Derry being very busy on the evening I needed to stay i chose the travelodge as it was the only hotel with availability. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and I was allocated a room on the 2nd floor. The room was the ususal standard Travelodge room however it was very tired and in a drastic need of an update. The bathroom was horrendous too and wasnt very clean. Ive stayed in a few travellodges but this is by far the worst and I certainly wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, General Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Corinne P

Thank-you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this on to the management team for further discussion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

if you're looking for a luxurious hotel then this one isn't for you ,we stayed there in late november for the lumiere festival . it's a basic hotel which needs a facelift ,,rooms are a throwback to the 70's but clean and neat ,,very central to city. staff very helpful and pleasant . we booked room only and when we arrived we were offered breakfast for £5 (continental) which we declined as there are plenty of eating houses within 50 yds.,,,,,would we stay there again??? definatly yes..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, General Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear James123

Thank-you very much for your recent review of Travelodge Derry. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. I will pass on your lovely comments to staff.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in the Travelodge in Derry for the weekend of the Lumiere festival. The hotel was busy. Having read reviews I was a bit anxious but in my opinion they were a bit harsh.Rooms were slightly worn but clean and spacious. This is a budget hotel and it provided all that we expected from it. There was no noise even though the hotel was fully booked. I would not advise against staying here.
Finally a word of praise for Geraldine the receptionist. She was one of the nicest , most helpful, knowledgable and friendly hotel receptionists I have ever met.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Esson1547,

Many thanks for your recent review for Travelodge Derry, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

I will also pass on the your lovely comments made to our staff member Geraldine.

Kind Regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived on Friday night from Belfast, and had intended to stay two nights. On arrival we found that the Hotel had a very central location, if not a bit lacking in signage, which made it difficult to see from the road. On the approach the place looks a bit desolate, you are greeted with a large concrete flight of stairs which lead to a rather shabby looking reception area. Immediately my heart sank, but we were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful receptionist who promptly booked us in. We were allocated room 301, and advised to take the lift up to the third floor. The lift itself had seen better days, BUT on arrival on the thrid floor, the lack of light bulbs in a very dark hallway which lead to our room, was only the a glimpse of what awaited us. The room was HORRIFIC, I was shocked, like sppechless shocked. The windows were filthy and covered by a metal grill, the curtains were coated in some wipe down fabric and had holes in them, the fact they were also hanging off in one corner just added to their appeal. The bathroom, well where to start. The sink was FULL of cracks, had no stopper, and the smell from it was unreal, the bath wasnt much better. No one in the right mind would have bathed in that room. The mold, cracked tiles, lack of towels and general state was something to behold. The room resembled a large prison cell, the grey bare walls, worn capret and barred windows were unvelievable. We were then moved to another room, which was marginally better, except it had single glazing, and overlooked a nighclub, and the lobby smelt like vomit. The sound of Fairytale of NY at 2 am just completed the night from hell. The pictures on the website ARE NOT the rooms in this hotel, even the reception is not the same, DO NOT waste money staying here, it is not a pleasant experience. Needless to say we checked out promptly the next morning. I genuinely felt sorry for the receptionist here, who could not have been more apologetic and refunded our money immediately, this girl deserves a medal. This is the hotel from hell.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Grainne B

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

To be fair we got a great deal £30 for a room for 1 night, thankfully. However the room faced a very noisy night club with single glazed windows. The room was a good size but smelt of smoke, clothes not worn and not unpacked from bag needed washed when home as smelt of smoke! Grout on bathroom floor was filthy and cracks and marking in sink atrocious. Very worn cupboard. Even hair dryer borrowed from reception the nozzle was cracked and feel off. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful with parking info as no parking on site. Would never stay here again and has put me off travel lodges altogether.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear julsdis

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are sorry that you did not feel the need to raise these issues with a member of staff at the time of your visit, so we could have rectified them immediately. We do however appreciate your comments and have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We arrived in Derry after traveling Belfast and the coast. We arrived on a Friday night, so the city was very busy and a few hotels we tried were either too expensive or booked. We settled on the Travel Lodge. Had I read the reviews, I would not have stayed here. However, the place looks dumpy and it could be a bit cleaner. I would never stay here again. The receptionist was extremely friendly and very helpful in offering suggestions on where to eat. The hotel room was huge, but I would have liked it to be a bit cleaner. It is very much a budget hotel. Parking is a bit of a nightmare in the town, but we were able to get a spot. I would not stay here again. Breakfast wasn't included, but judging by the rest of the hotel I wouldn't want to eat here anyways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Olivers1008

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22 - 24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.