We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Derry city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Derry to your Saves list
Travelodge Derry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location in Derry city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

By the time we arrived here it was our 4th Travelodge for the trip.
Travelodge Derry was by far the top of the bunch.
Fantastic location (the restaurant/pub across the road is excellent) near restaurants, the riverwalk and the city centre.
Parking in public carpark was reasonably priced and 2 mins walk from the hotel entrance.
Room itself was pretty standard. We slept well with the window open and had no issues with noise.
All in all a good stay elevated to a great one when you consider the price point.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Chony Bails,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we are absolutely delighted that you rated us as the 'top of the bunch.'

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Derry.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    63
    51
    75
See reviews for
42
100
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in the Travel Lodge on a Saturday night, we were originally booked in for 3 nights and had booked our room four months in advance. Yet by 4am when we had gotten no sleep we were on the (expensive!) wifi booking an alternative.

Had been warned about the bar below but the main issue had been doors slamming all night, paper thin walls combined with no soft close mechanisism, was constantly being startled awake. Our "window" was being completely covered by a vent, going on and off all night. Receptionist did not seem surprised when we explained our grievances in the morning. Have honestly never had to complain about any hotel, and have had better nights sleep at festivals or in hostels.

Management have failed to respond to our complaint and request for refund since the date. Thankfully we ended up in a nicer, and cheaper rival franchise a little further out of the city but worth it for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Hollyfur,

I would like to take this time to apologise for the issues you have experienced during your recent stay,
If you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss this issue with you further.
My email is derry@travelodge.ie.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Obviously a travelodge so you know pretty much what to expect, nothing amazing but in contrast to other reviews we found the hotel to be pretty clean. Despite being on a main street it was also quite quiet within the room.

Hotel is in the centre of Derry, so a very convenient location near to the bus station and major attractions. Staff were very friendly and keen to help.

Tip to travellers, the pub below does a very reasonably priced Ulster Fry or other breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Travelling_Turtle84

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following a recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our team here at the Travelodge pride ourselves
on our good customer service and I will pass you comments on to the staff on duty.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Derry.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as was working near Derry. The reception staff were pleasant enough and helpful re restaurants etc. The first room I had looked old and dated and the bathroom drains/ toilet was smelly. There was also mildew in the bath area and the shower was a thin spray and couldn't be repositioned. This room was overlooking the breakfast room and was quite quiet. We had to buy a 'continental breakfast' there (as the Lloyds pub next door that does cooked breakfast did not open till 8am). The cost was £4.95 and only limited juice, tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yoghurts and stale croissants/ Danish were available. The better, second room later in the week was on the third floor but overlooked Strand road. I was told the music would stop at midnight and bars close at 1am but it being the Flaugh folk were still marching down the road banging drums at 4am and then the road sweepers started! We went to the local bars and The Exchange restaurant both nights and we are no party poopers but I would not recommend if you need your sleep! we just about managed to get through our working day...

Room Tip: Rooms away from Strand St or higher rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear del-froogo0,

We appricate you taking time to review our hotel. We're sorry your stay wasn’t as it should have been and for that we appoligize.
All of our rooms are now undergoing referbishment to make our hotel more up-to-date and modern. We are currently in the process of re-painting and fitting new fixtures to enhance the rooms.
As regards the noise from the street and bar during your stay, Derry was hosting the Fleadh Cheoil na hEireann from August 11-18th and there were over 450,000 visitors to the city, including a host of musicians, dancers and artists. Due to our prime central location, we had little to no control over the noise, but again we apologize for the disturbance.

We value your business and hope to show you a different side to our hotel if you choose to visit Derry again.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bezons, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

No car park (use public), WiFi expensive and poor quality, doorways dirty in the evening and night, bed sheets not changed, no hairdryer, no outside line with the phone in the room, girls at the reception (in fact hidden behind their desk) barely polite. And the last: awful drum&bass noise from the ground floor bar preventing from sleeping (needed to change room and to take pills) on Wed/Fri/Sat.

Room Tip: The highest floors the "better".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear JLecocq,

Let me first start off by apologising for any inconvenience that you have experienced whilst staying. If you would wish to talk about this matter further you can contact me directly at derry@travelodge.ie.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we stayed here and were annoyed to find that it was above a bar which isnt stated in any of the hotel ads, rooms are over priced we paid £152 for 2 rooms and they were both disgusting. one had a cracked window, cracks in sink basin and damaged bath,the shower pressure was awful no shower gel r shampoo and really old furniture. the other the window didnt close shower was broke corridors were dark and smelly. we paid cash and on the morning we were leaving i noticed they had also taken money from my card. receptionist was very patronising telling me it had been preauthorised on my card the day we arrived and would be back in my account in 5 days as all hotels do this, me and my partner stay in hotels on a number of occasions and this is not what happens when you pay cash. cant believe we were charged the price we were for what we Recieved . ive seen nicer hostels. basic is an understatement. only plus was bed was comfy. i would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.its old and dated and disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear samc22197

I would like to take this time to apologise for the issues you have experienced during your recent stay. If you would like to contact me directly I would be delighted to discuss this issue with you further my email address is derry@travelodge.ie

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Arrived at 9.30pm and the room rate (no breakfast) was a reasonable £50 (might have been less if I had bargained). Parking is close by, in the public car park across the road - you can pay the night before for parking the next morning, if you are not planning to leave early.
The breakfast buffet area looked inviting.
This is a Travelodge, it 'does what it says on the tin'. Clean, functional rooms, with good quality beds, with the added bonus of friendly, engaged staff.
My only gripe ? A lot of cigarette buts on the window ledge outside my top floor room, evidence of disregard for the smoking ban. Not the hotels fault, but they look unsightly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear LobbyLudd,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback in relation to your stay with us at the Travelodge in Derry.

I'm glad you like what were are doing here at the Travelodge in Derry with our new beds and new breakfast buffett selection.

As you have point out with the cigarettes it is quiet hard for us to stamp this out completely but we do charge £150.00 for any guest who do smoke in the Hotel as it is a non-smoking Hotel.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22 - 24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travel Lodge
Derry Travelodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.