We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Derry to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butcher Street | Off the Diamond Road, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I visited last week on 'The winter warmer' offer. The inclusive menu for this offer was limited, and the portions were small. I didn't think it was 4 star quality. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows of a very poor standard leading to a very poor sleep. We had breakfast delivered to the room, the bacon was practically burnt and the mushrooms looked like they were cooked 2 days ago. On a positive note, location is good & the staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean and we had a lovely view from our 4th floor room. Having said that I believe I would'nt stay again unless the above complaints were corrected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Anthony D

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I have contacted you regarding these issues but have not heard back from you. These issues you have mentioned are not our standards and I would really like to speak with you about these as we have new mattresses in the hotel and also have great compliments about our breakfasts so I would really like to talk about your experience to see what went wrong during your stay and how we can rectify this. You can contact me direct on afitzpatrick@thd.ie, I look forward to hearing from you

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    138
    64
    20
    8
See reviews for
77
181
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My family and I had a great weekend at the Tower hotel. The welcome was big, the rooms excellent and the food and service was really up there. We enjoyed the sightseeing and the Derry air!The Hotel was very accessible, as my mother has some mobility problems we were very glad that she could move around.
C Martin

Room Tip: The suites are good value and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Christina M

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had such a great stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you again

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My mother, brothers, sisters and partners had a fantastic weekend at the Tower. The staff were very friendly on helpful. The Restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and modern. We were recommended by the Hotel staff to do a city walls tour - again fantastic, well worthwhile - a must if visiting Derry. B.Loughran and family 2014

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel are a bit quieter although the view is better from the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Brendan L

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel, it is great you had such a lovely time on your family break with us. Thank you for all your lovely compliments, we hope you welcome you all back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

On 5th Jan 2014 I celebrated my birthday with family and friends @ The Tower Hotel. Our food was fabulous and the service from their staff was brillant! You won't be disappointed with the food nor service so I'd recommend you pop in for a bite to eat or even a wee drink!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Michellemello,

Firstly Happy 30th Birthday, we are delighted you had such a special day with us. Thank you for your lovely compliments regarding our staff and service.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Tyrone Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Where do I start????? Have just returned from Tower Hotel after booking for 2 nights B&B and one evening meal with a group of 15 people and I just couldn"t praise this hotel highly enough. Being in the restaurant business myself I understand the hard work that goes into achieving customer satisfaction but from start to finish the service that we received was second to none!!!! From making my group booking with Amanda who was more than accommadating to all our needs, to our welcome on arrival by the lovely Bronach who was so efficient on checking us all in and pointing us in the direction of all the nightlife which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were both outstanding, compliments to the chefs on duty and a big thank you to Sean who looked after us......hope we weren't too loud lol....Breakfast for those who made it to the dining room was
also lovely and having personally ordered breakfast in bed at quite a late hour my food arrived promptly and was piping hot. Top praise must go to Gareth who had the task of looking after us in the residents bar he must have the patience of a saint bless him !!! An absolutely outstanding young man who was probably glad to see our bus arriving for home lol. Think he enjoyed the craic...i know we did. I would highly recommend the Tower Hotel to anyone heading for a break in Derry city it has everything that you would hope for from its central location inside the city walls to its friendly staff, great food and high standard of cleanliness. Hope to see you all again soon x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Pancake163

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are delighted you all had such a lovely time with us. We enjoyed having you all stay with us and we will pass all your lovely comments onto our staff. We hope to see you all in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The perfect location in the heart of Derry city. Derry is an amazing city with a great nightlife and very interesting history. I'd recommend the walking tour of Derry which is mainly around the walls. The free Derry museum is only minutes from the hotel and really gives you an insight into the troubles.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Eamonn N

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

first of all it is necessary to say that this is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are badly in need of updating, but they are clean and the beds comfy. The location is excellent - right in the centre beside the walls. There is a surprisingly nice bar. We didn't eat, but the food looked fine. Breakfast was good and the manager and staff very friendly. If you are not expecting 5 star comforts, this is a fine hotel for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear amdev

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and thank you for your honest feedback, the hotel is currently going under rennovations and you may have noticed the newly decorated lobby and bar, we then have plans for the rooms to be decorated. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | Off the Diamond Road, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.