We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jmodirl from Derry” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Derry to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Butcher Street | Off the Diamond Road, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jmodirl from Derry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very disappointing. First problem was that they messed up the booking and split us between two different floors. On rectifying the situation the following day, we initially were refused help in moving the luggage, but eventually, after a second request, we were informed a porter would be available within an hour. On entering the room, we discovered the carpet to be soaking wet outside of the bathroom. A closer look at the bathroom showed several broken floor tiles, which allowed the water to seep out into the bedroom area. One item which I feel should be in a hotel room is a small refrigerator. not available in the Tower Hotel. The electronic key system is very unreliable. Ourselves and many other guests had problems with these. The receptionist informed us that the keys were affected because of our mobile phones, (?). The rooms are designed for winter usage. Centrally heated, but murderous during hot weather. To try and cool down, we opened the windows only to be deafened by the traffic noise and curtains had to remain closed as our room was overlooked by the office block across the road. Installation of an electric fan and net curtains would be a tremendous benefit. To finalize, this hotel is definitely not worthy of four stars and is definitely off my list.
I and my family will be returning to Derry again. We thoroughly enjoyed the history and sites and found the Derry people to be very friendly and welcoming, but at a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Jmodirl

Thank you for firstly choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would really like to discuss the issues further, please do email me on afitzpatrick@thd.ie.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    156
    69
    22
    7
See reviews for
89
211
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

There was mold in the bathtub, the bed was buckling , the amount of noise that came from the street in the middle of the night was terrible, you will defiantly need ear plug if you stay on the street side of the hotel if you wish to get some sleep. The worst part was the room service they served a pitch black pizza that came from the supermarket. Some pleople who served the food were very kind and others not at all.

They try to ask money for everything, 9 pounds for max 24
Hours Internet and they wanted 5 pounds for a tray to take some already paid for breakfast up to my sick mothers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Elize123,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Tower Hotel, we are disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory, with our enviable city centre location, we are in the hub of alot of city centre events and at times these may cause some noise that is out of our control. We are happy that you found our room service staff to be pleasant. WIFI is complimentary in our lobby which all guests can avail of.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I'm not sure I'd put this in the 5-star category, but it was certainly clean and nice. The room was plenty big enough and everything was clean and in working order. There's also parking for hotel guests which was good, too. It's located just inside the city wall, which made it very convenient to walk the walls. It's not too far to reach the murals, either. Derry was extremely quiet... almost deserted. But we learned that this is usually the case on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings here. We were a bit disappointed that the hotel bar quit serving food at 9:00 as there weren't many choices nearby that were open and acceptable. But, as it turns out, we discovered a great little place called Fitzroy's just a couple of blocks away (go out the front door of the hotel, turn left, walk around "The Diamond," and it'll be immediately on the right after you walk under the wall on the other side).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
FlyGuy47

Thank you for firstly choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel and secondly for taking the time to write this review. It is great that you found our rooms to be clean and nice and that you made use of our complimentary underground car park. We serve food until 9pm midweek and until 9.30pm Friday but have a room service menu available after this time. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tower Hotel on a room only basis very recently, my room was a very good one. There was a a local food guide in the room containing a list of restaurants and cafes detailing their signature dishes - a great touch. Staff at reception were attentive and very helpful. No better hotel to stay at whilst visiting Legenderry!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Stephen Blair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had such a good time with us, thank you for the compliment that there is "No better hotel to stay at whilst visiting Legenderry" this is greatly appreciated.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our first trip to Derry was highlighted by our stay at the Tower Hotel. We were in walking distance to virtually everything we wanted to see and had a lovely dinner in the hotel dining room.

In our booking we were even able to arrange a walking tour of the city walls, which was fantastic. The room was spacious and had a view back to the city walls. The parking is extremely limited and can be difficult to navigate (especially for a Yank!), but not enough to damper our fantastic time at the hotel and in Derry!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Erin21210

Thank you for such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that your time at the hotel was the highlight of your trip. It is great that you had a lovely dinner and enjoyed a Martin Mc Crossan Walking Tour, thank you so much for choosing the Tower Hotel and we hope that you have a fantastic onward journey through Ireland.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzptrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here and found the location and the rooms fine. The parking was great and the breakfast was satisfactory. However there is alot of street noise and there was alot of noise on the corridoors late at night. It is suitable for people who like being out late and enjoying the late night scene.We didnt find it great travelling with children.

Room Tip: Not fronting on to the street. Derry has done alot to promote itself and to generate tourism . It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Maire_10

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had a lovely stay and although you felt the hotel was too noisy we hope that that you would come back and visit us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We took advantage of the great weather to travel and see family In Derry so booked the Tower again because it is perfectly located and I love their breakfast. It has had work done to the bar and reception from our last visit and I must say it is smart. If you plan to travel to this wonderful City I would recommend this Hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Over looking the famous Derry walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Cityhopper1234

We are delighted you had such a good stay with us, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for choosing to stay with us for a second time. Its great that you like our newly refurbished bar and you seen the great changes that are happening at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | Off the Diamond Road, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Orbitz so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Derry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.