We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Bar

The Bentley Bar
3-5 Market Street, Derry BT48 6EF, Northern Ireland
02871371665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 139 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Bentley Bar is situated on Market Street in the heart of the City. For one of the best pub food experiences in Northern Ireland The Bentley Bar commits itself to good food and customer service.With live music every night of the week and only a 30 second walk from the Millenium Forum The Bentley Bar is the perfect place for your pre-theatre drinks. Visit us and take take advantage of our pre-theatre drink promotions.As well as our award winning pub grub we now offer evening meals in our all new restaurant the bentley steakhouse. So if you missed our lunchtime specials, call in and try some high quality restaurant food and extensive cocktail menu.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a lovely steak in the restaurant upstairs- cooked perfectly. My daughter had fish and chips presented beautifully in a mini fryer basket. We got little jars of caramelized onion with each dish also which was a nice touch Desserts lovely .. A good addition to the Derry restaurant scene , let's hope they keep up the good standard and not let it slip like most of the other Derry restaurants seem to do after a few months .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    49
    15
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Below average unfortunately...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate here early Sunday evening and unfortunately were very unimpressed with both the food and service.
Orders taken quick enough and our main meals arrived after a short wait....then the waitress decides to have a conversation with her friends at another table before going to get our side orders...they arrived down about five minutes later by which time our meals were getting cold.
Chicken was overcooked and too dry...steak too salty and greasy - don't know how they managed this..pepper sauce was the only good point. Music too overpowering - it was more like a disco.
Very good location and decor etc is nice but we're not likely to go back in a hurry.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're sorry our customer service was not up to the standard that we strive for during your visit, we assure you that this is a departure from the norm, and will be addressed accordingly. We hope to see you again in future.

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The bee's knee's .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Out for our annual festive cheer & we were not disappointed. A gaggle of girls is difficult enough to deal with but despite the numerous different orders & tastes, we were all fed at the same time. Clear away time was precise & swift with just enough time for the smokers to nip out for that eager awaited cig! Mains were more than enough portion wise with plenty of side orders to fill our plates. Dessert 'Baked Banana Gingerbread' is a must..... Too marks to a top Resturant no question of returning ASAP.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Bentley Bar has average food and can get pretty packed at times which is annoying when you are hungry the service was poor last time we went as the waiteress was more interested in talking to her mate

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“drop in centre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a meal on sunday night at the bently steakhouse, the first time i have been there but i usually eat in the bently bar as the food is always good. The new steakhouse is very well presented and the food is good enough, improvements need to be made service wise as the waiters and waitresses serving our table only asked once whilst being seated if we wanted drinks. We had a three course meal and were there for over an hour so we would of had more drinks had we been asked. The main problem was the traffic of half cut girls and guys that were not eating in the steakhouse, visiting the waiters and waitresses who were all stood around the bar area of the restaurant. The visitors were raving about how smashed they were on sambucas, very classy. Wether they were relatives or off duty staff, i should think all parties should have known better. The restaurant is up one level from the bar so there was no reason for them to be there.This type of behavior will only drag a place down and reports i hear from businesses in derry that have had their christmas do at the steakhouse are less than appealing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We apologise for the behaviour of our patrons and we will take measures in future to prevent incidents like that from happening again. We will also stress to our staff in future the importance of customer service.
Thank you for your review and we hope you'll visit us again

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bentley Bar also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Bentley Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.