We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for a staff night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Masala

Mama Masala
24a Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
02871279034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 139 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service for a staff night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I made a booking with Mama Masala for 25 people for a staff night out. The food was very good and the service was excellent. In summary we could not have been happier with the evening and I would definitely recommend Mama Masala to anyone looking for good food, at an affordable price, served by staff who are warm, friendly and very keen to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Odd combination, but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food was reasonable for an italian/indian resturant. I irdered hot, and it was hot, so that was good. Service a little slow even though it was fairly quiet.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time dining at mama masala & found it to be a pleasant surprise. Had been put off by idea of Indian/Italian & was sure the standard would be affected. We opted for the indian early bird option. It was delicious with complementary poppadoms & trio of dips pre-starter which was a nice touch. Portions are large & staff were very friendly & attentive throughout. My daughter loved the ice cream mocktail. It was a nice change to have some mocktails that weren't as expensive as the real deal! Restaurant itself has nice decor & a lovely view of the riverfront. Would definitely recommend mama masala

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Proper Indian Food !! Great Views and Service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate here in Aug (twice it was so good)...the place has a lovely feel to it ! we love indian food and this place was 5 Star ! fresh flavours and great service. The kids can have pasta and pizzas which were great ! I would recommend this Restaurant to anyone ! try their Makhani and Madras !! Beautiful food. will def go back to this place when in town next !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Das D, Manager at Mama Masala, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your great review we highly pleased to know that you had a great time during your visit in Mama masala. Hope to se you again in future!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited with colleagues whilst in Derry for a show at "The Venue" over the river. Was slightly tempted by the Indian topped pizzas, but stuck to the more traditional curries. Good, if not exceptional food. The Madras was rather hotter than expected, but tasty. They did add an extra main course to the bill which they removed when we queried it, so watch out for that, but overall, well worth a visit. We liked it so much we went back the next night too, but that's partly because there were no other Indian restaurants in walking distance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Das D, Manager at Mama Masala, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi ! Thanks for your review , and great to know that you enjoyed some part of your meal with us . Sorry for your bad experience on the bill side but it's definitely some mixup which very rarely happen . But over all we want to see again in future and try to give our best.
Thanks n regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Masala also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Mama Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.