We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sooty Olive Restaurant

The Sooty Olive Restaurant
160 -164 Spencer Road | Waterside, Derry BT47 6AH, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7134 6040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 139 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a casual dinning restaurant serving good food at good prices in the heart of the waterside derry
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great value, delicious food, lovely staff and a cosy, inviting atmosphere. The restaurant is perfect for any occasion.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    55
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Derry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Dinner for 8 on Easter Sunday was my 5th or 6th experience in the Sooty Olive and again it was excellent. Interesting dishes, wonderful friendy staff and owner, Ceoliac/ lactose friendly, children friendly and very reasonably priced. This will certainly not be my last visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leoben, Austria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice food and ambiente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The girl at the hotel send us to this restaurant and it was amazing. Real good food (the best I had in Northern Ireland) and the waiter was very polite. Its really worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, Great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great value for money. 3 of ate here on a Tues night. Two of us had 3 courses and the other had 2 courses. We also had a bottle of pinot grigio, two glasses of wine and two sprite. The whole bill only came to £78. The food was nice and there was plenty of it.

I only gave 4 stars as one main course we ordered- the Goats cheese tart- was just that. It was hoped that it would contain another filing such as red onions. The other main courses- salmon, and Thai red curry would have scored higher if they had a richer/ deeper flavour.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazin easter experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Just after an amzing family feed at the sooty olive. Gorgorous food, amazin atmosphere and wonderful friendly staff. Would highly recommend.... Cant wait to go back. Best place i av ate in derry in a long while. Deeeeelicious!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sooty Olive Restaurant also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Sooty Olive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sooty Olive Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.