We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guildhall

Guildhall
Guildhall Street, Derry BT48 6DQ, Northern Ireland
44-028-71376-510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 Attractions in Derry
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were greeted by a very enthusiastic employee in the Guildhall who gave us a quick rundown on the recent changes in the Guildhall, we went on to explore the building and take in the splendour of the very impressive stained glass windows & the main hall, don't miss it..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    51
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Left with hope for the future in my heart!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We wandered past the guildhall and I noticed its open doorway and nativity scene, and mentioned how inviting it looked, so inviting we wandered in, not quite knowing whether it was actually open to the public. We were greeted warmly at the front desk and given a brief overview of what was where. The lady also kindly pointed out we were best to start upstairs to see the stained glass windows to their best advantage, as the dusk was nearing. On going into the main hall a lovely man called Gerry offered us a tour, thankfully see accepted as it was a wonderful insight into the building and the tales of the city (and ulster) told by the stunning stained glass windows. This was also accompanied by the story of the plantation of Ulster which we enjoyed downstairs after our tour. Gerry finished the tour in the council chamber, and actually nearly had me in tears with his message of hope...he truly imparts the importance of pulling together and compromising to bring 'a bright brand new day' (as the old song goes) to our province. It looks as if the sun is shining on Derry City.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pretty as a picture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Guild Hall is a Victorian building of 1887. It is built of red sandstone which makes it look like a Scottish building or certainly foreign to Ireland. It is a beautiful building which is fronted by a fine plaza.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour in Derry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

To be honest it was starting to rain and I hadn't been in since it was renovated!
Glad I did go in, there is a good exhibition on the Ulster Plantation down stairs that is well worth a look(although one of the screens were have some issues! there is info on how the walls were built as well.
upstairs are the council chambers and you can take a pic of you in the mayors seat.
most importantly its free

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“guildhall derry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

recently renovated to restore the impressive facade , it was the venue of an Exhibition on the Plantation of Ulster (worth seeing) when I visited . I was told by a tour guide it was also serving as the Tourist Information centre although I did not see much evidence of this .

the Cafe although small serves healthy snacks also pastries tea coffee etc and the cafe staff are helpful

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guildhall also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guildhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.