We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guildhall

Guildhall
Guildhall Street, Derry BT48 6DQ, Northern Ireland
44-028-71376-510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 Attractions in Derry
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Surrey, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Living History !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you are in Derry then a visit to the magnificent Guidhall is a MUST. Amazingly its FREE to get in. At present there is a fascinating exhibition (downstairs) of the city and its history and gosh what a history this beautiful city has. Upstairs you get the chance to view the outstanding Main Hall. If you are in need of a rest stop, then you can pop into the tea room to rest your weary legs. Please do pay the Guildhall a visit :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    51
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My daughter and I had never visited the Guildhall before, although my husband had in the 60's. The renovation which took over a year is amazing. The organ looked wonderful and we found the stained glass window we were looking for. The staff were so helpful and willing to assist. Congratulations. We also enjoyed the cafe attached to the Guildhall overlooking the River Foyle and Peace Bridge with all the beautiful hanging flower baskets. The service was friendly and coffee and cakes good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It Don't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was in Derry in August and popped into to the revamped Guildhall and it did not disappoint!!
From the moment you enter the Fabulous Building to you leave, you cannot digest the wealth of information and history that is here! The Staff are very courteous and with their wealth of knowledge
they make your time there so joyous and interesting! The interpretation panels throughout the building brings a history lesson to your ears, with such splendor, making the whole experience a joy!
The new Cafe, is a great place to relax and chat about what you have been through! Just loved the Stain Glass Windows,the Great Hall and the Superb organ!! The whole story of the Plantation of Ulster, is explained here in great detail! I spent 3 hours here and will be back to get another flavor of this Magnificent Building!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sun afternoon in Derry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The beautiful restoration that has been done and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. We had full access too the main hall and council chamber and a very good exhibition about 'The Plantation'

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Large hall with beautiful stain glass windows and spectacular organ. Very friendly and helpful staff.
The building felt very accessible....friendly and welcoming staff. No charge to go in, open convenient hours, café at the back. Apart from my main visit, I popped in a couple of more times to use the loo during my exploration of the city !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guildhall also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guildhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.