We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine's Church

St. Augustine's Church
Palace Street, Derry, Northern Ireland
44-28-7130-8185
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 96 Attractions in Derry
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Larne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely lttle church, wgich we had seen on Lesser Spotted Culture the week before and felt surreal having a look inside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stunning in a quiet way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are bigger and grander churches everywhere, even in this city, but this is a little gem of a church with atmosphere and a warm welcome that is moving. It is a short stop that is worthwhile.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful little church!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I visited this little church on my first trip round the walls. It is absolutely beautiful inside and out. We were welcomed by a very friendly gentleman who was willing to answer any questions we had. Worth a look inside!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful little Church of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely little church as you travel along the walls in Londonderry. Usually a welcoming face at the door to provide information and invite you in. Nice place to 'get away from it all' and reflect. Nice that you can leave a voluntary donation to help church funds.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We came upon this beautiful little church on our walk around the city walls. It is beautifully kept inside, there are some interesting artefacts and it is worth popping in for 10 minutes while you walk around the walls.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine's Church also viewed

 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to St. Augustine's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.