We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool - take a walk around the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Walls

City Walls
City Centre, Derry, Northern Ireland
44-28-7137-7577
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 140 things to do in Derry
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Really cool - take a walk around the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Loved the city walls - completely different than anything we're used to back in the US. You can climb on top and walk around the city via the walls, or see them from ground-level. Very interesting

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    195
    20
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant learning and walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I suspect the tour guide is what makes this walk. Excellent discription of the history of the city placed in local and European context.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well worth the walk around town to see the walls and the churches. Seemed tourist friendly to me. The churches were nice also. We walked to town from the hotel

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wonderful walk. If visiting the city please visit the walls. If you can please do Martin mc crossan tour

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great to walk on a sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Never ceases to amaze me the history that beats in this city, the walls surrounding the city still capture my attention everytime i visit Derry

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Walls also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Walls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.