We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little guest house in Derry.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarence House Guest House

Clarence House Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarence House Guest House to your Saves list
Clarence House Guest House
15 Northland Road, Derry BT48 7HY, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Derry B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best little guest house in Derry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This has to be the best guest house in Derry, it is even recommended by Charlie Landsboro, who has stayed here many times in the past. There is a bedroom called the Landsboro suite.High praise indeed, you will have a very good time here as the owner,Michael Slevin will do everything in his power to make sure you are comfortable.Clarence House is only a few hundred yards from the centre of town and the nightlife, there are a few shops in the immediate vicinity where you can stock up on the little things,such as cigarettes,papers,sweets etc; Meals are good and there quite a few good restaurants nearby if you fancy eating out.Visit sometime you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would say only one thing, the front of the building faces a fire station, so you might be wakened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent two wonderful weeks at the Clarence House in May 2012 and was treated with true Irish hospitality. I slept in Room 6 on the third floor. My room was well decorated and very spacious with a nice LCD TV to catch up on BBC news at night. Michael Slevin, the innkeeper at Clarence House is a very kind man, he took very good care of me and my friends. Every morning I was welcomed to a HUGE Irish breakfast with every breakfast food I could imagine... The tea and coffee were so wonderful and the quality and choices could not be beat. The highlight of my day was to come down to breakfast, drink my coffee and listen to the radio Michael would play. Michael spent so much effort into my breakfast and cleaning my room (once in the morning and again around 5pm for turn down service). I was very impressed!

If you are looking for an authentic Irish experience with a great Irish breakfast, this is the place for you! If you are looking for white glove service and something similar to a Hilton... Then GO to a Hilton! The Clarence House is owned and operated by a homeowner, therefore, you are a guest in his home. Treat Michael with some respect, and he will do the same. I have nothing but great things to say about Michael. I would highly recommend to anyone staying in Derry to stay at The Clarence House. I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Derry!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay in the Landsborough Suite at the Clarence House and I have to say, this has been one of the best experiences in a bed and breakfast I've ever had. The keep, Mr. Slevin is kind and humorous and will go out of his way to help when asked. Mr. Slevin prepares a full Irish breakfast every morning and cleans the rooms meticulously every day. He even took me and 3 other guests on a personal tour of the area, seeing a fort built in 300 B.C., Donegal and a lovely island called Inch Island. The accommodations are well kept and clean and absolutely stunning in the way they're set up. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: The Landsborough Suite is absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our trip overseas was 99% pre-planned. The only night we left open was when we eventually landed in Derry. The wonderful lady at tourist info told us there was a huge jazz festival on, plus a bank holiday weekend,and tried her best to find us accommodations. She succeeded finding the four of us rooms at Clarence House. It's a beautiful, old Victorian guest house. We found the rooms clean, and what can we say about Michael? He certainly entertained and welcomed us warmly. We have absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: On street parking and reasonable walking distance to restaurants. Even the uphill climb walking back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I came to Ireland with a study abroad and we stayed at the Clarence House. I cannot believe ow overwhelmingly wonderful the inn keeper is. Every morning he cooks a full hot breakfast complete with multiple types of meat and eggs along with pastries and homemade porridge (the best)!! There is a bar downstairs, and the rooms are clean and quaint. I had my own bathroom with wonderfully hot water in the shower. The bed was comfortable, and the room servicing was fantastic. Every day my shoes were lined up neatly and my jackets hung up. If I come back to Derry/Northern Ireland, this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Clarence House and it's proprietor, Michael Slevin, exemplify all that is warm and wonderful about Derry and his beautiful homeland of Ireland. The Clarence house is Charming and beautiful, the rooms are clean and quaint, the beds unbelieveably comfortable.On cold nights the heat is perfect. He transforms the living area into a gorgeous dining room for a delicious full breakfast in the morning, even with a full house, every person is so well cared for, why would you stay anywhere else? It is conveniently located to all you would want to see in this lovely town of Derry, the new Peace bridge over the river Foyle, both colleges, North West Regional University and the University of Ulster, the shops and wonderful restaurants along the waterfront. I can't reccommend this wonderful guest house highly enough!! Cheers and Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed for two weeks because my employer was paying the bill The place was filthy I had to ask the owner to vacuum my room The milk in the room was replaced only when it became curdled After having words with the owner about deliberately keeping me waiting at the front door before he let me in , ( a little game he plays to amuse himself) the quality of breakfast changed The bacon tasted like it had been lost in the back of the fridge for years Apart from that , it is in a good position and within easy walking distance to central Derry The owner told me that he was sick of being in the business and wanted to sell up and move away It shows The sooner the better

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarence House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Guest House

Address: 15 Northland Road, Derry BT48 7HY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarence House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Guest House Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarence House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.