We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, which was a reason for the poor food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Badgers Bar

Badgers Bar
16-18 Orchard St Old City Centre, Derry, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 139 Restaurants in Derry
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very busy, which was a reason for the poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

It was very busy , which would make you think the food was great , very small portions, chicken was dry, and chips were half cooked! Waitress didn't even give us time to finish our drinks, she was over andlifted our plates, this was probably due to them requiring the table.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was in Badgers today 12.1.13 for a beer to watch football whilst my other half shopped. The atmosphere was good and there seemed to be plenty of food being served so when my company arrived we decided to eat.
When we were given our menu the waitress who was very friendly was back with us within 30seconds, which didnt really give us much time to look. Wheh she came back 2 minutes later she sat with us and was very friendly and we placed our order.
I ordered chicken wings and my partner, chicken strips. The only way I can descirbe them is something that you would purchase on special offer in Iceland supermarkets, they were just completely greasy and with little or no meat. The chicken strips especially where even an unusual colour and both were bordering revolting.
Then when we got our main course, about 3 minutes after we were finished our starters I was completely shocked. My other half had ordered the Beef stack which was just a piece of overcooked meat dripping in grease, with mushrooms and onions to accopmany it. The cubes which came with it where edible but the peppered sauce, disgusting. I made the very poor decision of picking nthe burger with 3 toppings. The burger came in a big floury bap and the meat was about the thickness of a piece of paper, a grey colour and again, like something that would have been purchased in a very cheap section of a supermarket. The bacon that was with it was rock hard the the cheese flaoting in grease. Again this was the theme of the course, it was just a greasy plate and the wedges which came with it where like something that had been microwaved.
Believe it or not these 4 plates and 1 soft drink cost £30. Definitely one of the worst £30's I have ever spent.
To conclude, the bar setting is lovely with friendly staff but the food must rank as the worst I have ever eaten out. 0/10 for the little food we could eat.
NOT TO RETURN!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

excellent place we have eaten a few times in the past and again on this trip to Derry, food excellent lots of choice, brilliant service and fantastic staff and in a great spot for shoppers looks very small from outside but is a bit like a Dr Who's Tardis plenty of space and various rooms upstairs and down. Prices are very reasonable too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Total hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just a quick review for those of you who are visiting the city.
You can't come to Derry without a visit to badgers for lunch.
The badger himself will be on hand as always.
We hand a lovely lunch following on from a family party the night before with an excellent Buffett
that was perfect both quality and quantity in abundance.
For the hospitality & Craic you'll not beat it.
Cheers Badger.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Nights Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to Badgers bar on Friday night to celebrate my brother in-laws 60th birthday, we had a great night and the entertainment which was supplied by Emma Breslin was first class.The atmosphere in the bar was very friendly with some of the cast of the pantomime calling in for a few drinks.The bar staff were very friendly and helpful. If anyone is going to Badgers it is advisable to be in around nine as the place soon fills up.This bar does meals during the day which I have been told are first class

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badgers Bar also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Badgers Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badgers Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.