We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Top marks for comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and the added bonus of great leisure facilities including an indoor pool! The restaurant is also very good and you have all the facilities you need under one roof. Restaurant, bar, spacious and relaxing reception area, leisure facilities, friendly people! What more could we ask for?

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    88
    47
    23
    30
See reviews for
95
113
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding in the white horse on the 26th June 2014, myself and my husband would like to thank them for an amazing day. Our day went without a hitch. Our guests are still talking about the amazing day and food they had. The staff were always at the end of the phone or email especially Emma. Also Heidi who was there on the day to keep things ticking over nicely,she was great. Us and our guest were made feel so welcome and treated with respect. We truly couldn't fault the service we received. We thank all the staff that made our day special. Thanks Ciara and David Holden x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I can say that this is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The reception staff are efficient and friendly. The hotel is very clean with good sized rooms. The bar and restaurant staff are very helpful and the food is of a very good standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a really wonderful stay at the White Horse Hotel in Londonderry for our Wedding Anniversary. Thank you so much to Keith for our upgrade to the Donneybrewer Suite which made our stay extra special. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant "68 Clooney". Choices of food on the menu was really good and very good value. Had excellent advice with regard to our choice of wine which by the way we really enjoyed too. Thank you so very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always good to get positive feedback and I will pass it on to all the staff. It was a pleasure to have you back to celebrate your anniversary and many more to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Having gone to the clipper festival, we spent Sunday on the tall ship hired by the hotel. We were greeted by great , friendly staff and helped onto the ship. Immediately we were given champagne. Throughout the day we had stunning food, prawns which were just special . The staff were amazing all day, our glass never emptied and nothing was too much trouble. On occasion when someone has spilt food or drink the staff reacted within seconds and with minimal fuss. We were no more than 50 meters away from the clipper boats as they left, having brief conversations with the crews. With thousands lining the quay, and it very crammed, we simply had the best position in town.
My partner and I had a truelly memorable day, and I can't commend the hotel highly enough on this experience. .
Thanks to Isham and Liz, to Keith and Ramona. And all the staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is quite dated and not located in city center, but it was more than adequate for our 1 night stay as we travelled through Ireland. The front desk girls were second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and they took great pains to give directions to anywhere we wanted to go. The restaurant was "okay". The staff were not Irish and this was disappointing; travelers from other countries want the "real Irish" service!
The hotel is in need of updating, but everything was in working order and met our needs totally. Unfortunately the fitness and pool were not open early on the weekend, therefore we could not avail of this feature. The parking is a bit dodgy, depending on whether or not there are cars parallel parked behind your parking spot...which is allowed. This results in difficult manouvering to get out. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night, after leaving a local B&B. The room and bathroom were very comfortable - great beds. We took advantage of the sauna and pool as well and had a very good dinner in the restaurant. My first experience with garlic potatoes in ireland, which seemed to have been deep fried and then drizzled with garlic butter! Delicious - but probably not very good for me:) Overall, consistent, good quality as expected from a Best Western.

Room Tip: Best to take a room in the newest section of the hotel. The hallway in the older section seemed a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.