We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
newry co down n ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and i went to this hotel for the first time to watch a tribute singer and i was delighted and pleased by the bedroom and the other amenities available the staff are very pleasent and welcoming and i would have no hesitation in coming back again and recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed the tribute night and hope to run many more. We have a full event calender for Christmas with some spaces still available or alternatively keep an eye on our website for dates in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    88
    47
    23
    30
See reviews for
95
113
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just home from a shirt weekend break at the White Horse Hotel. We found the hotel very pleasant and our room comfortable. The staff were lovely, and the restaurant food was excellent. Only slight negative was that the hair drier hose was split, rendering the drier fairly useless, which was a bit of a problem for me! Other than that could not fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After spending last weekend as part of an organised group for a reunion at the White Horse Hotel, feed back from group members have been nothing but excellent. The Food especially excelled our expectations, for both adults and children. The staff were more than helpful and accommodating, even when more than expected turned up for meals! Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Leisure facilities were very good too. Highly recommend this hotel. Suited our function perfectly being close to the airport. Looking forward to the next visit. Thanks to Keith, Claire, Emma, reception staff, and everyone else involved in making it a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent an excellent weekend at the White Horse Hotel as part of a reunion. The hotel was filled to capacity with members of our group. Staff were all very friendly and seemed happy to help with any enquiry or request. The hotel and its facilities were of a good standard, with the room that my family shared being both spacious and comfortable. We were very well catered for at all meals over the weekend, from an American themed dinner on the Friday evening, full formal menu on the Saturday and excellent childrens meals. Our only complaint was that we were tempted to eat too much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just home from a 3 day function for 170+ people. which I helped with.

The managment are very easy till deal with and go out of there way till make your function enjoyable.

The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much problem.

The room I had was large clean and modern.

The food was some of, if not the best I have had at my fifth year attending this type of function.

The only one bad point. I may of enjoyed myself a bit much at the bar. But only due till the friendly bar staff.

It is also great value for money.

Would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at this hotel where we attended a function over 3 days. The food was excellent throughout our stay from the childrens meals to an excellent banquet served to approx 170 people. Staff were extremely helpful in all areas. Our bedroom was spacious, of a good standard and very clean. The function rooms have obviously recently been updated and are very modern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We asked to pay with points and were quoted 16,000 per night for 2 nights. When we got the bill we had been charged 48,000 points. 20,000 for 1 night and 28,000 for the other. The woman at the front desk wanted to be helpful, but didn't have a clue what had happened or how to resolve it. After multiple e-mails we finally just paid with a credit card. Add into the cost of your stay transportation to the town of Derry. 5 pounds per person to town and back on the bus. We thought breakfast was included in the price on line, but it wasn't. An additional 8.95 pounds per person. It was about 5 pounds in town. The room was big and clean. If we go back to Derry we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments reference your stay. I am sorry if you felt you had been overcharged but that is not the case. As you describe it is possible to pay your accomodation bill with your bestwestern points. Like all rates the amount it will cost you varies daily. My receptionist told you the rate would start from 16,000 points but made it clear that it would likely be more but at that time was unable to clarify it. As the rate you had booked on line changed for the 2nd night you where charged more for it.
Rates are always displayed on best western in points as well, so when the booking was made this was clearly visible. You always had the option to pay with credit card and I am glad we where able to assist in reversing this transaction and refunding your points. In future I would suggest booking online and select the payment option of points at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.