We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kil221” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Armagh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“kil221”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Unimpressed with outside of hotel as it is located in an industrial area but once through the front door our impressions changed. The welcome was warm and friendly and the appearance was bright and airy with open fire in the reception area. Room was clean and well appointed with everything you would need. Food was excellent and staff were very attentive. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear kil221,

Thank you for your review. We have landscaped alot of the outside areas of the hotel and repainted all walks to improve our looks. As you said a car garage close by has recently closed and this does not help. I am glad once inside you appreciated the hotel appearance and our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    103
    51
    23
    32
See reviews for
107
129
12
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for two nights in January with my husband. room was nice and clean. staff were lovely and food was amazing. breakfast was your usual choice for foods from fruit, cereal and a cooked breakfast. (if you dont see beans just ask for them like my husband did).
There was a wedding on one of the nights that we were there but we didnt here anything in our room.
Gym looked good but we didnt use it nor did we use the swimming pool.
I would recommend this hotel for a nice wee week end away.

Room Tip: i would ask for a room further away from the reception if there is going to be a wedding etc on as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments with reference to your stay. I am glad my staff looked after you and you enjoyed your breakfast. You missed out on treating yourself to a relaxing dip in the pool but there is always next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at this "3star" hotel for one night on 25/01/12, it was a work trip and i booked this hotel on the strength of its web page,well they should be done under the trade description act !!. I was in room124 ,did it look like the pictures on there web page ? Not a chance more like a grubby 70s B&B. Where do i start, lets start with the actual room door there is a 3/4 inch gap at the bottom of it you could get a telephone directory under it !!, the bathroom had a toilet with indigestion spontaneously bubbling and gluging , grubby grout and silicon round the bath at the tap end, luke warm water even after running the tap for 5 min, there is a electric towel rail and the cable for it is secured with fittings nailed inbetween the tiles into the grout,one was allready hanging loose and the others wont stay in grout for long, looks like "new" skirting boards and door frame in the room, obviously went for the cheap and cheerful joiner because the work is as rough as a badgers back side,Bedding was clean and the bed not the worst ive slept in and the reception staff were polite enough,if it was my money paying for it i would be looking for a refund as it was work all i will do is make sure everybody in my firm knows to avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as it was close to Campsie ind. est where I was attending a business meeting the next day. Recommend this hotel as it has nice facilities, 20m pool and gym, and great food having recently got an award. Receptionist and restaurant staff very helpful in getting the wifi to work as I needed it to check mails. Good value also.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because of the location - close to both the airport and hospital - it really was an excellant choice. The food was exceptionally good, the waiting staff very attentive and the reception staff could not have been more kind and thoughtful to me. It was not a happy occasion as I was in Ireland to visit a very sick relative and eventually staying an extra night to attend his funeral.

When I come back to the area - which I certainly will - I will definately stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Went out to the hotel for dinner with my girlfriend after hearing good reviews locally, was very impressed with the atmosphere and quality of service. the food was top notch and some of the best I have had in Derry in a long time.

Will definitly be back within the coming weeks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Gareth,
Thank you for your review of our restaurant 68 Clooney. We have a trip adviser page for it as well so if you would be so kind as to search for 68 clooney and leave a review I would appreciate it. Our menu uses the best seasonal local product so please do return to sample our new menu. Why not treat the girlfriend to dinner on valentines night. Email me at keith@whitehorsehotel.biz if I can do anything for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great location for the airport. Only stayed one night. Bathrooms need updating - dampness in walls, and taps old and not fully functional. Bedroom nice enough, mattresses firm, but big mirrors and the room is large. Cooked breakfast in Dining Room was lovely. But think I'd stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Address: 68 Clooney Rd, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.