We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay for business or leisure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beech Hill Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay for business or leisure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have stayed here on a number of occasions it feels like coming home every time I walk through the door ! From the lovely welcome, cleanliness, ambiance, fresh flowers, walks in the grounds to the fabulous meals, comfy beds, free wi-fi - the list is endless. Rather than stay in the noisy city centre this is ideal for peace and quiet relaxation at the end of a busy day. (My only wish was that my home was as grand as this !)

Room Tip: Having stayed in quite a few - don't think there is a bad one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    92
    38
    22
    17
See reviews for
73
252
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013 and enjoyed our visit. We take trip regularly as we are retired and I found the Beech hill atmosphere very inviting and the staff great to give your extra help. Nothing was any trouble.

We liked the atmosphere of being in a friendly environment but that you could also enjoy your privacy as the staff are very professional. The whole place is relaxing and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossgar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just returned after a lovely break at the Beech Hill. This must be our favorite hotel in the North.
It has been over 2 years since we stayed in the hotel but we were pleased to see the same staff still working in the hotel, some of which remembered us by name.
We enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon walking in the well kept grounds of the hotel and then at the fire in the lounge.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on Sunday evening. Served by very friendly efficient staff and the food was excellent.
We did note the change to the breakfast menu and loved the selection of cooked breakfasts. The fresh fruit and honey crepe was delicious.
We did miss seeing Jake on this visit but we were informed that he was still very much part of the hotel. (Jake is a black Labrador)
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great staff who are extremely helpful and polite.
There is a nice small lounge area with a bar for pre dinner drinks. We had a very enjoyable
dinner, again with very good efficient service. The hotel is a little old fashioned but very quirky and we will most definitely return soon. Rooms are lovely with great space, toiletries could be of
a better standard. Overall this is a lovely place for a nice quiet break and it's real strong point
are the helpful and caring staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went here for a weekend break, booked late, so it wasn't cheap, but all in all it was worth it. If you are wanting the most up to date facilities, ease of access etc this is not the place for you. But for an old fashioned, country house hotel in beautiful surroundings, with good food and friendly, efficient service, this place would be hard to beat. The en suite in our bedroom could perhaps do with a wee bit of tlc to bring in up to contemporary 4 star status, but there is little else I would complain about. The mini-museum on the role of Beech Hill in WW2 and its connection with the US Marines is another bonus for history buffs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife & I stayed here on Friday night for a little treat for ourselves. Great history accompanied the equally great room, service and fantastically tasty food. Plus the bar stocked my favourite Talisker single malt scotch! Breakfast was superb also with a wide range on offer. Will definitely be going back here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed as a party of five for one night. The rooms were excellent, one had four poster bed and a suite of furniture and an amazing bathroom, one was huge and well equipped and the third room (ours) was modern with everything we could possibly want. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant which was also very good. Quite small portions though delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent with a super choice and variety of food on offer. This was my third visit and yet again the hotel lived up to its great reputation. Will be back soon,,

Room Tip: Room 20 if you fancy a four poster bed, or the new rooms.....but all the rooms have a charm of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Hill Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.