We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beech Hill Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A real treat! Traditional country house hospitality, great beds, super food, charming staff who went the extra mile. This house is steeped in history. If it is good enough for the Clintons, it is good enough for me!

Room Tip: We upgraded and the room was enormous. I hear the old part of the building is the best, but ours was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    97
    40
    24
    17
See reviews for
83
266
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We're staying at the Beech Hill for a weekend as part of a special deal which includes two nights' B&B and an gourmet evening meal. We've just had the evening meal and it was fabulous. Freshest bread we've ever had, perfect steaks, and sublime desserts. Delighted to see Baked Alaska on the menu, since so few restaurants offer it. The restaurant staff were really attentive, and extremely pleasant. Can't recommend highly enough. Our bedroom is massive and very comfortable, although perhaps not the last word in modern facilities. Looking forward to breakfast..... We usually stay at another hotel in Londonderry which is owned by one of Northern Ireland's local hotel chains, and although the facilities there are probably more modern, the attentiveness of the staff in the Beech Hill is second to none.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrigart
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have not stayed in this hotel but agree with other reviews that it is a super place. Had Sunday Lunch here a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. Quite expensive at £23.95 but it was worth it. Last week I returned with a group for a set menu at £20. Portions small but all very tasty. The big let down was the "fresh fruit pavlova" - it was not pavlova but a meringue nest!! That is taking cutting costs just a bit too far in my opinion. It is probably rather petty to be mentioning this but in the last week I have told a number of people about my experiences so feel that it is only fair to pass my thoughts on to the Beech Hill Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is magnificent: it is a short taxi ride outside Derry/Londonderry (and a perfect place for City of Culture visitors) set in beautiful wooded grounds through which a stream runs over a waterwheel and in which there are several short waymarked walking/jogging/cycling trails. There is historic interest: the building and grounds were taken over by the US Marines during WW2 and there are mementos in the public rooms and in the grounds. The food is excellent: an imaginative menu with something to please everyone and cooked to perfection. Our room was spacious with a giant bed. But the best bit is the welcome: we were there for a special anniversary and one of our party had arranged a small choir to come and sing but unfortunately forgotten to forewarn the hotel. The choir turned up but the hotel were completely unfazed, found a place to put them and the performance was thoroughly enjoyed by all. Deserves at least 6 stars.

Room Tip: Our enormous room with the giant bed was no 58: it is a little distance from the reception area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently arranged for my Mother's 80th birthday to be at The Beech Hill. Patsy and the team did a fantastic job. The food was excellent and the service was exemplary as always. Pasty listened to our request for a special table in their conservatory. She gave good advice on a special menu for the party and made sure that the table looked just perfect for the occasion. All in all my mother had a great birthday and everyone commented on the quality of the food. It was a perfect evening for us all.

One of the main reasons that I'd chosen the Beech Hill for this occasion is that I'd received the same quality of service and attentiveness at my wedding and reception, held here a couple of years ago. I cannot rate the hotel enough - they really do give top-class service and make you feel so very welcome....enough to not want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My first ever review as i have never thought the need to rate a hotel before but i have to say what a pleasant place the Beech Hill is. It's not your average hotel as it surpasses everything expected. The food is amazing and the staff are most helpful in a very friendly manner. They have a deal for the first few months of 2013 on rooms, and my wife and i stayed in a lavish room for £65 B+B all in for the both of us. The price of the drink at the bar is quite expensive but this is it's only short coming. Well done to all involved and keep up the good work

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very friendly and welcoming Hotel.My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend in the Beechill and would certainly go back again.The staff were polite and attentive and the meals in the restaurant were excellent .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Hill Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.