We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beech Hill Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co Down, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best hotel so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I always find it difficult to buy for my parents so usually book them into nice hotels for birthdays, christmas, special occasions which they usually enjoy, but the Beech Hill Country House Hotel surpassed their expectations - they loved it and my mother asked me to recommend it on here! When they arrived the lovely lady on reception not only made them feel very welcome, she accompanied them to their rooms and gave them a little of the history of the house. Their standard room was fabulous, huge bed, sofa, easy chairs writing desk, beautiful views over immaculate gardens. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. But although the house fabulous, the real treasures in this hotel were the staff, very welcoming, helpful and made my parents feel very much at home. Both parents cannot recommend this place highly enough and because of this, I'm looking forward to planning my own visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    97
    40
    24
    17
See reviews for
83
266
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wexford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay,we had only planned to stay 2 nights,but we had such a lovely time,we stayed the extra night.We had our dogs with us with us in our room at no extra charge,great location,32 acres for walking the dogs & the ideal location for exploring beautufl Derry & its surrounds,will definitely be back,would recommend it for all dog lovers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Mom and I were lucky enough to receive a promotion to stay at this Country House Hotel when we were just planning and booking for our trip, and were excited to have been able to reserve a 3 nights' stay. And we were not disappointed, ever. From the moment we arrived, we were made so welcome, almost like very special family. We enjoyed a huge room with two queen-sized beds and, although it was in the 'newer' section and on the lower level, it enjoyed a view out to a the garden pavilions and the forest beyond - delightful.
Every experience with the food was also a delight: from gathering in the study in front of a crackling fire to browse the menu and enjoy an aperitif before a fine dinner, to wonderful personalized service at tables with a view of the gardens, ponds, trails and wee bridges, to full Irish breakfasts of only the very best foods; we were spoiled.
A pity that we 'lost' a day to high winds and heavy rains (rain doesn't stop us, but the wind was daunting), but close driving proximity to the Giants' Causeway, Portrush, and Mussenden Temple kept us busy, and our stay seemed disappointingly short.
We really must return; it is a special place with very special people.

Room Tip: I understand it is often possible to be upgraded to one of the more elegant rooms in the historic pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast n ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We pass through Derry quite regular and often intended to visit the Beech Hill and now I'm sorry we left it so long.
Only booked on the morning of our first night there and got an upgrade to the Senators suite, what a great room with a bay window view from the back of the main house over the gardens to the woods-beatiful.

Dinner both nights was a joy -fresh and perfectly prepared . Fish on the first night and steak on the second and neither could be faulted . Starters and sweets were again excellent and breakfast was of the same standards.

The staff were all so friendly they really made us feel like regular guests and Patsy ( the Host) is so friendly and chatty we felt we knew her for years- Thank you so much.

The building and grounds are extremely well kept and the woodland walks so relaxing you could be miles into the country rather than just off the main road.
The wartime connection with the US Marines adds something to the place and the collection of photographs and records make very interesting reading.

I can't wait to return

Thanks , Patsy and staff for everything.

Room Tip: Upgraded room in main building well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed there this weekend and it was really special. We had an early flight into Derry and went to the hotel where they let us have breakfast to start our stay with them. We arrived back later on, where we were shown to our rooms, they were lovely and spacious. Our evening meals (we stayed 2 nights) were really nice too ! The staff were so friendly and helpful, giving us tips for our planned days out. All the staff were very attentive but we have to say both Roy and John made our stay. If anyone wants accommodation in this area then don't hesitate to book in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great experience our group enjoyed at Beech Hill. Beautiful old home with large rooms, two fireplaces in study where you share a drink and wonderful food in the dining room. Best of all is the staff and owners who are very attentive, take great pride in their Country House. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite requested by President Clintion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. The location is fab...20 minutes from Eglinton Airport...about £12 by taxi and 10 min from city centre...about £6 by taxi. Firstly the welcome from staff is lovely...and thoughout our stay they pre-empted our every need...from putting the fire on in the lounge when we arrived cold from a walk to knowing what we liked to drink. The food is absolutely first class and service excellent. Room 29...giant bed and claw foot bath in the room...when I was a child I used to say "my elastic had snapped " when I was tired....that's just how I felt in that room...cause I was sooo chilled. The gardens and walks are lovely and the history of the place is amazing.....in February 1942 the United States Navy established its first base on this side of the Atlantic and were billeted here....there is a wealth of information and photographs displayed...evoking images of young GIs as you walk in the grounds.....all in all this hotel is the business if you want somewhere with character and not your run of the mill boring samey hotels...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Hill Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.