We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Warm Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Everglades Hotel to your Saves list
Everglades Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 53 Prehen Rd, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Warm Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed here with my wife for out first anniversary and was really happy with the hotel and the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was nice and plentiful. The only problem was that the room was very hot, now I know the hotel is not in the middle of Spain but it was a very warm and uncomfortable night without air con. The bed was large and the water and fruit in the room was a nice touch. The duck from the bathroom will now become my permanent companion on my travels.

I would stay here again in winter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    119
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
109
263
16
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Having read the mainly excellent reviews for this hotel I booked using the Hastings hotel chain's website. Their gourmet break promotion meant that the one night stay and 4 course meal for 2 was £100 which for 4 star hotel and food is pretty good value I think.

The hotel interior and the bedrooms are very presentable as I expected and when I arrived I was moderately impressed. The room was spacious quite plush with a nice bathroom. What stood out for me was the TV. Most hotel rooms will have one of course but this one was about the most impressive I've seen in a 4 star hotel - however the picture was pretty poor - due to a weak signal I think. Small point I know but it set the scene for the rest of the stay.

Going down for our Gourmet 4 course meal - I enjoyed a drink in the bar which has been decorated to look like a library/study. The food however is not all that good. I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the portion size and lack of flavour. I would overlook the portion size if it was exceptionaly tasy food but it was very hit and miss! This was disappointing for a gourmet break and aside form the convenience of being able to eat at the hotel I'm sure the city probably has much finer fare on offer and I regret not just getting the room and eating elsewhere.

The big thing I missed when first being impressed with the room was the lack of ventilation. There is no air con in the rooms. Waking up at 4.30am having cooked all night was not what I had hoped for. If you persevere you will find that the window opens a tiny crack but that the traffic noise will not allow you to get back to sleep and the tiny amount of air you get isn't enough anyway!

I was told at reception in the morning there were fans available and that I should have asked for one. I don't think this is good enough though!

It's no dump it is a very presentable hotel but my personal experience was not a positive one unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Owskie

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am dissapointed that you were unhappy with the quality of the restaurant meal. We regularly receive very postive comments relating to our dining room, and I am dissapointed that on this occassion if we were unable to live up to our high standards. I will certainly pass on your comments to our Head Chef, and I thank you for your honest feedback.
In relation to not having air conditioning, I can only apologise if you felt our rooms to be overly warm. Due to the unusual humid weather we have been experiencing, the hotel has been warmer than usual, however we do provide fans for guests use, should they make us aware of their need.
I am pleased that you found the hotel pleasing on the eye and very presentable.
Once again, thank you for your feedback
Kindest Regards
Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Vastly over priced-a very disappointing stay in many ways. Food portions were stingy and devoid of flavour. Staff seemed very over worked. Sadly, would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesManager, Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear divera67,

Thank you for your comments. I apologise if you were dissapointed with the portion size of your meal and felt the food was devoid of flavour.
We use the finest in local produce and are regularly commended on the quality of the food. I will certainly monitor this area over the coming months.
Kindest Regards
Stephen Meldrum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed again in the Everglades - a business trip. As ever, the Everglades provided comfort, cleanliness, great food and excellent service. Barbara (restaurant) and Leanne (reception) really looked after me and made me feel less lonely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were made to feel welcome the minute we stepped into the Everglades.Check in was quick and hassle free and the staff couldnt do enough for us from the word go.Our room was clean and cosy and even when we reported that the cd player was not working it was replaced straight away.The hotels location is brilliant for a quick drive into Derry city for abit of shopping and other entertainment.We had food from the bar menu and it was of a high standard and catered well for my young son.It was lovely to sit by the open fire at the end of the day and relax with a drink and again the staff were only to happy to see to our every need.The breakfast was very relaxed and there was plenty of variety to pick from.Overall I would say the Everglades is a lovely hotel with excellent staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed in this hotel last week with 5 friends for my birthday and I have to say I couldnt have asked for better. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by not only a very friendly receptionist but also the Duty Manager, which was a nice touch. Check in went smoothly and we were reminded of our dinner reservation which we had made when we made the hotel reservation.

The room was a superior double and it was great, I would have no complaints. The hotel was able to place my friends in rooms beside me which also was a nice touch. Dinner was my birthday treat from my friends and it was such a treat! I had the deep fried Brie and then the sirlion which was cooked to perfection. For dessert I had the chocolate and lime meringues which were delicious all of my party agreed that the food was excellent and i would definately recommend it.

All in all I could not have asked for more, the hotel was lovely and the service was second to none. All the staff I met were friendly, nice quite location but not far from city centre will we be back............yes for sure

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

i attended a 30th wedding anniversary recently and found the whole experience wonderful. The staff were polite and courteous while the setting was beautiful and vibrant. The meal was served buffet style but was fresh and extremely satisfying, especially the dessert with the strawberry cheesecake in particular fluffy and tasty. I would have no problem recommending this hotel for any party be it small medium or large.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41 - 53 Prehen Rd, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Derry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.