We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Everglades Hotel to your Saves list
Everglades Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 - 53 Prehen Rd, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed recently in the Everglades with friends - we were greeted by very friendly Staff, check in was efficent and quick, Our rooms where spacious and very clean but the added bonus was the really comfortable bed. The public areas where also spacious and very relaxing without been fussy - GM certainly has an eye for detail,. The dining room and meal we had was an experience on its own - overall a lovely stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    123
    50
    17
    11
See reviews for
120
290
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay in June 2013 in this hotel with our family as part of the GAA U14 Feile.Superb food served from the restaurant by very patient and pleasant staff who went out of their way to be helpful.The bedroom was meticulously clean and comfortable. The hotel had a real buzz about it with alot of visitors and staff tending to everyones needs. Can't wait for an opportunity to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a very gorgeous hotel! The room and bathroom were luxurious and clean. The bed and pillows comfortable. The lobby had free wi-fi and great sitting areas. The bar staff were very friendly. The restaurant food was delicious (supper and breakfast) and the staff very friendly. If staying here, you must try the whisky on your oatmeal (it's right beside the oatmeal pot). Our waitress from supper the previous night suggested it, and oh my it was awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in June 2013. As we know the area, I knew to book a room on the other side of the hotel from the main road. I stated it on the booking form and called twice, once on the day of arrival to ensure this would happen as we were checking in after 8pm. However when we got there, we were in a room on the main road. Slightly frustrating as we had to go straight out but the staff kindly moved all of our things and more or less put them in exactly the same place in the new room which was a lovely touch.

The beds are super, super comfortable. Luscious I would say. Lovely sheets and covers. Little nibbles in the room on your arrival and a couple of small bottles of water, plenty of tea and coffee making stuff. The bathroom was lovely as were the robes and toiletries provided. This is what I would expect for the price tag. I think its pricey for Derry but it is a busy year for the city.

The breakfast though was £15 a head and I have to say was on the poor side. There was plenty of it but the quality did not reflect the price. The sausages were of a poor quality and very processed. I would not have it again. We got a taxi into town (£3.50 each way) on the second morning and had a much better breakfast for half the price.

If I did stay here again (on a better deal), I would not have the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a family room whilst up for the U14 Feile in Derry. Its in a great location overlooking the River Foyle and close to the centre. The rooms were excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great. Plenty of tourists around the hotel and the information provided was good. Overall a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Everglades last weekend with a large group who were attending the U14 Feile. The staff as always were very helpful and made us all feel so welcome. A big thanks to Kayleigh and Leeann at reception who checked us all in. The food at the hotel is fantastic, we had the best breakfast ever here and I would highly recommend the burgers from the bar menu that we had for dinner on the Friday evening. It was a pity we had to leave early on Sunday as we all wanted to stay for the Sunday Brunch. Definitely next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself & my 10yr old daughter stayed last weekend as part of a group visiting Derry for an event. This hotel was a relevation. From check-in which was friendly and efficient, to the fantastic service from the staff in the bar & lounge area I honestly couldn't find fault. Our ground floor room was a good size and nicely decorated. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in the room it seemed to have everything we might have needed. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The bathroom had a walk in shower rather than a bath (which doesn't bother me, especilaly when the water pressure is a good as this was). My daughter loved the little duck and I have to admit he came home with us! Both the bedroom and public areas were spotlessly clean.
We ate one evening meal in the hotel's restaurant which we really enjoyed. Highlight for both of us though was the hotel breakfast! We treated ourselves to the hot buffet. This was restocked regularly, and I know its a small detail, but I really hate those buffets with dried out bacon and rubbery eggs. This food was all freshly cooked and I have yet to have a better hotel breakfast. Although the restaurant was busy, our dishes were cleared quickly and I was offered fresh tea before asking for it. Impressive service indeed! Each table had a little booklet explaining where the hotel sourced its food from. I thought this was a lovely touch & was delighted to see how many local producers were used.
There are other hotels with a more central location for the city - but I would doubt that any could match the level of service from the staff in The Evergaldes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41 - 53 Prehen Rd, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Derry
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.