We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss my Sandwich Co - Best Sandwich & Staff!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandwich Co

The Sandwich Co
61 Strand Road, Derry BT48, Northern Ireland
028 7126 6771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 147 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Soups
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 1990, The Sandwich Co serve the finest sandwiches in the north west of ireland through their nine sandwich bars!
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Miss my Sandwich Co - Best Sandwich & Staff!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent selection of Food, bread, fillings & soft drinks (spoilt for choice), Fantastic friendly staff, great location, lovely wee buzz at lunch time &very affordable!

Love Dubai but nothing beats my weekly sandwich i used to have at sandwich company Strand Road!

Good luck

Corah :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    10
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bray
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good food and cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good choice of food, value for money, great buzz and welcoming atmosphere, lovely comfortable armchairs and homely feel

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“*Best Sandwich in Town* - Excellent Filling Choices, Enjoy The 2013 "City of Culture"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hi,

The Sandwich Co is my first choice for a light lunch on any day visit to Londonderry / Derry City (Currently this year’s City Of Culture, good luck!)

With outlets on both banks of Derry’s Foyle river and a few other branches in the Northwest, they seem to be doing well and even expanding, their shop at the Diamond in Londonderry has just recently located a few steps away around the corner to a much larger ‘flagship’ premises which is very impressive indeed. It even offers simple wall painted local maps which would aid any tourist in seek of the aforementioned Culture.

With all stores having the same menu any old favourite can be easily recalled or with a very, very wide array of sandwich fillings I doubt you would be stuck for choice. Various breads are available and you lunch can be served toasted, normal or take away. No doubt they will build you any combination of filling as desired.

In addition there are all types of sweet offerings, various teas & coffees & free newspapers, the staff have always seemed very polite in any branch I have visited, and with tables being cleaned regularly a good standard of hygiene seems to be maintained.

Not the cheapest sandwich perhaps, but well worth the little extra, eg: Bacon, Smoked Cheese, Sun Blush Tomatoes & Chilli Mayo on white bread with a few crisps on the side served with a pot of tea coming in at £5.35 it won’t break the bank.

Parking can be difficult in the middle of Derry, especially near the Diamond, though it is free for up to 1 hour, check the signage well as the ‘Red Coats’ will pounce at will! Pay car parks are also available nearby.

All in all highly recommended, I hope you enjoy!

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Was this review Helpful' box.

Les

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry. N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Quick service, reasonably priced, central location in Diamond area. The premises is quite small but sone can watch the world go by since all the seats are at the windows.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglinton, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Proper chicken breast, fresh breads, good service hygene. Sandwiches made to order in front of you. Good variety of fillings available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanuIreland, Manager at The Sandwich Co, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandwich Co also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Sandwich Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandwich Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.