We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is we so regret not researching more about Derry before we decided to stay as we would have loved to explore the city much more and come back to this AMAZING accommodation.

It's like a 5 star hotel without the price and with the best service!! more than I feel you would get if you stayed in a Hotel, it was the most comfortable we have felt in a B and B on our Journey around Ireland/Northern Ireland!! Loved the little extras like tea, coffee and a small fridge with fresh milk! Breakfast was delicious and filling and im sure any request would have been meet! LOVED the shower want one just like it best shower!! Super comfortable bed and room to die for!! We'll be back can't wait!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello E,
Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted you found troy Hall similar to a 5 star hotel without the price and that you describe our accommodation as amazing.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
133
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hard to fault this B&B. Grand old home conveniently located within walking distance of central Derry. Large tastefully decorated guest rooms with all the mod cons. Great views into the well maintained grounds and Derry. The highlight was the congenial and helpful hosts, Anne and Michael and of course the full Irish breakfast served in a the lovely dining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Don,
Many thanks for your "perfect" review and that you enjoyed the Irish breakfast.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Troy hall for 2 nights as a birthday present and we were not disappointed, the old manor house is a hidden gem, full of charm and character, with a lot of homely features.
Michael & Ann are extremely welcoming hosts, very knowledgeable about the area and as you drive up the driveway its like going back in time,
The rooms were exactly as advertised, the room we stayed in was perfect in so many ways, the room was massive with high ceilings, clean, decorated beautifully with bathrobes and slippers provided.
The breakfast was amazing, great atmosphere and lovely for a couples wanting a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Australia,
Much obliged for your excellent comments and really enjoyed our chats about your great country.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was the nicest place we stayed. The rooms are really large and the beds are comfortable. I was traveling with my mother, who has had two back surgeries and requires a good mattress. These ones were great for her. They were top quality and firm. The bathrrom was beautiful and the shower was large and had a rain shower head.

The breakfast was also really nice. I require a gluten free diet and she purchased gluten free muffins for me to have at night with tea and bread and cereal for the morning.

This is a perfect place to stay. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Salt Lake City,
Much appreciate your kind comments.
We always try our best to facilitate any special dietary requirements of our guests.
best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed in this beautiful B&B for two nights. It is like a hidden country gem in the middle of the city - beautifully restored old house which still feels like a warm and inviting family home. Rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable and attention to detail from tea & coffee facilities & biscuits to fluffy towels and a clean bright room was faultless. Breakfast was also excellent... a proper northern fry up! Would definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Co. Kerry,
Thank you for your high recommendation and your description of "a hidden country gem in the middle of a city", that's exactly the feeling we hope to promote for our guests.
Best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My daughter and I spent the last night of our Northern Ireland road trip at this beautiful B & B. We stayed in the Rosemount Suite which had a great view of church and Derry beyond. The home has lovely features, full of old world charm. It was too bad it was so cold to enjoy sitting out in the garden. This has been our second trip to Ireland and by far this has been the best B & B we have had the pleasure of staying in, along with the best sleep, given that it was tucked into a quite location, but still close enough to drive into the town centre to enjoy the sights. The room was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. Michael, his daughter and 2 grand children were very gracious hosts, and served up a huge breakfast. Thanks Michael for providing recommendations for eating out and directions back to Dublin to connect for our flight home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Shelley,
Thank you for describing Troy Hall as the best B and B you have stayed in and that you enjoyed a good nights sleep.
We think we are ideally situated for peace and quiet but not too far from the hub of things.
As we are back form the road and in private grounds we get the feeling of seclusion yet it is only a 20 minute walk ,or 5 minute drive, to the city centre.
Best regards,
Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent a night in this delightful bed and breakfast and what a wonderful experience.

This is surely one of Derry's hidden gems and I am glad to have found it on trip advisor.

Ann and Michael are the friendliest and most gracious couple .

Troy Hall is beautifully restored to it's former glory with wonderful colour co-ordination throughout.

Every detail is thought of, even down to the fluffy White dressing gowns and slippers which I have only experienced in 5 star hotels.

There are aromatherapy toiletries in the bathroom and tea/coffee/biscuits in the rooms.

The rooms are huge with flat screen TV and outside in a guest fridge you can find bottles of water and fresh milk.

I felt like a queen sitting in the grand dining room having breakfast which was delicious , freshly prepared and beautifully presented.

All in all our stay in Troy Hall was an experience not to be missed.

We had the best night's sleep in a long time as the rooms are so quiet.

My only regret is that we could not stay longer as we were on our way to a family funeral.

I am looking froward already to our return visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are palatial with wonderful views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troyhall, Owner at Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Teresa,
Many thanks for such a good review, particularly as your are a TripAdvisor senior reviewer.
We hope to see you again during your next visit.
Very best regards,
Ann and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Troy Park, Derry BT48 7RL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troy Hall, built circa 1890s, is the original grand manor house and to this day retains all of its Victorian architectural features. Troy Hall is a family run bed and breakfast and so every effort is taken to make your stay at our guest house both memorable and very comfortable.best regards,Ann and Michael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hall Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.