We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns

Browns
1 Bonds Hill, Derry BT47 6DW, Northern Ireland
28 7134 5180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 141 Restaurants in Derry
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have been in Browns on a couple of occasions and again last Saturday night. The food and service was impeccable as always. i would be hard pushed to find another restuarant in the town that lives up to their standards. We had a great night and felt very welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    47
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have to say visited here on recomendation and I was not disappointed. We had pre theatre dinner booked for 6:15pm. We got good value for money too. We will be back .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there last Friday night for their Food and Wine Dinner night, and it was one of the best nights we have had in a long time. The food, wine and service was absolutely fantastic. Hope it is not to long before we get a chance to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“HMMMMMMMMMMM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was in Brown with my husband for a meal last Friday night and as usual it was amazing! We both went for the early bird men, which at £20 is great value for this standard of food. When we arrived we were given a selection of home made breads including briocche and guinness bread as well as slices of smoked chicken with sweetcorn puree. I could have quite happily eaten this as my dinner it was so good. For starters I had the duck and my husband had the venison sausage roll. Mine was nice but his was soooooooo good! For mains my husband had steak and I had pork. I can honestly say it was the best pork I have ever had. But they saved the best for last. The desserts were out of this world. I had the chocolate and pistachio fondant and my husband had the toffee and banana tart. For service, price and quality of food Browns just can't be beaten!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was the first time I had been to Browns and probably won't be the last. I went with my wife and we both enjoyed our meal. I had the scallops to start, which were fine, though I wouldn't have them again. For main I had the Cod which was excellent.
The service was very good, and all the diners seemed to be treated to a little extra starter of a small portion of soup in a little cup, which was very nice.
I do though have a couple of criticisms.
Where we were sat, in a little sort of alcove, I basically had my back to the rest of the restaurant, so the atmosphere was lost. It also made it a little difficult to attract the attention of the waiters. I would recommend when booking to ask to be seated in the main dining area.
I don't mind paying a little extra for quality, but I though it was a little too expensive, I don't think there was a starter for less than £9.00.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.