We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Derry Tours

Free Derry Tours
Gasyard Center | Lecky Road, Derry, Northern Ireland
00447793285972
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Tours & Activities in Derry
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic tour, both historically informed and personal. Go to the museum as well--though the price is great either way. It will immensely enrich your understanding of the Troubles and the current political and social situation of Northern Ireland.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still thinking about it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This tour was the best thing we did in Derry and was such an intense walk through history.
I love how this was the first tour I ever took that the history was brought to life by the fact that your tour guide is not some history buff but a man that tells you his story. very intresting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A superbly interesting account experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This tour will be of interest to anyone who has the slightest interest in the history if 'the troubles' in the North. It is an hour long walking around the Bogside area of Derry which brings you through the entire history of the struggle for human rights in Derry. The tour was given by a man who's father was murdered on Bloody Sunday by the British army. It was extremely interesting to hear first hand account of the events of Bloody Sunday from a family member.

If you are going to Derry this tour is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Free Derry Tour - Brilliant - You haven't seen Derry without it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Whilst many people know the history of the Bogside Derry, who better to tell the story than those that lived through it.
My initial contact was with Eugine Coyle who was friendly & keen to give us a group rate as we were part of a group from Co. Donegal. We ALL agreed that the rate was very good as it included the Museum of Free Derry & the walking tour.
I am not going to spoil the tour but the representation & significance of the murals on the walls tells a story that will leave you awash with emotions of anger & sadness yet at the same time it will fill you with hope for the future....
Our guide was fantastic & you could tell he wasn't your normal guide i.e. a bored curator showing you artifacts of times gone by but an enthusiastic, knowledgable guy who FELT the whole Bogside experience.
The museum, whilst small in size, also provided an insight into the troubled times on the Bogside & the resistence of the locals in the face of brutality of the times.
It is also great value for money especially if you factor in the museum as part of the package. Our group loved it & already some are talking about going back again with friends & family.
I would definately tell any local or visitor to the city that this is a must see experience not to be missed :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Before travelling to Northern Ireland I read a book called 'Violent Delights'. This tour brought the book to life. Great book and great tour. Our tour was with the brother William Mckinney who was killed on Bloody Sunday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Derry Tours also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Free Derry Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Derry Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.