We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfoot Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfoot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caw Roundabout | Waterside, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

met friends who were staying here over the weekend. Cannot fault anything about the restaurant. place was really busy, great atmosphere, food was excellent, great service and reasonably priced.
Friends did say the rooms were a bit dated but that hasn't put us off the restaurant. will definitely be back!

Room Tip: pre-book a table in the restaurant at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Jim0343 we are delighted you have taken the time to send in your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Waterfoot Hotel Wine Bar. Its great to hear you & your friends were very happy with the food, staff and service. I can assure you these comments have been passed on to our team and they are greatly appreciated as we endeavour to exceed our customer's expectations. Your friends will be pleased to know we are currently in the process of refurbishing some of our bedrooms so hopefully they will experience these on their next visit. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Waterfoot Hotel again soon.

Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    83
    61
    33
    22
See reviews for
68
121
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel over the years has changed greatly. Obviously the location has not changed and it's fantastic location just off the Foyle bridge makes it easy to find and is near main roads for heading to the country side or to the city.
The main entrance and restaurant has been well modernised and the rooms are being updated bit by bit too. The bar food was very tasty and good value.
The room cost was good value.
Breakfast is fairly standard and all staff are helpful and friendly. My only hope is that next time I stay I have a room with an up dated bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Claireb we are delighted you have taken the time to submit your feedback on your recent experience at the Waterfoot Hotel. Your comments on our location are great as it is perfect for customers travelling from all directions yet it still has easy access to the city centre and attractions. Its seems you may not have visited the hotel since the change of ownership and refurbishment in 2009 and it was lovely to hear you thought the food was tasty in the Wine Bar & good value as well as the rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly & helpful staff also. You will be pleased to hear we are currently upgrading some of our bedrooms so I hope you will visit us again soon and see the newly updated bedrooms.

Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel which was great. we stayed there with 18 young footballers all running around the reception area but the girls on reception took it all with good grace and were very friendly to the boys.The hotel is just by the Foyle bridge so is very convenient for the centre of Derry,we ate at the hotel which was good also the breakfast was excellent. Also the kids loved the free wi fi for there ipads etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Billsthelens - it was a pleasure to host the Rainhill Football Team at the Waterfoot Hotel. The boys were lovely and well looked after by their parents and coaches. Thankyou for the lovely comments regarding the hotel, staff and food. The location is ideal for groups with coaches as we have a large free car park and provides easy access to all main routes in and out of the city. We hope you will all return to the Waterfoot Hotel again in the future as you will be very welcome and well looked after.

Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we travelled over for a wedding and stayed in the hotel just for one night on the first afternoon we went down to the bar for a drink when we were shoo'd away from the front bar and into the tiny snug as it seemed the staff at the front bar were not interested in serving us then that evening we had to wait a long time for our booked table to become available and when we asked for the 3 course menu that people who stay in the hotel get it took the water forever to bring them to us the service was very lackluster there were mistakes made with the orders and the waitress didnt crack a smile once. The room we had although dated was very spacious we had the best room of our group however. Forward to the morning at 6.30 am and the fire alarm goes of the front desk did not answer our call and it took 30 minutes for a duty manager to arrive to turn it of at that stage we were wide awake and went for breakfast which was disappointing to say the least. The fire alarm went of twice more between breakfast and our departure. The service was awful and the staff were less than helpfull and pleasent

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
MorganeC290 I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent experience at the Waterfoot Hotel. I have spoken with the staff and they remembered you as you made it obvious you were unhappy throughout your stay. The time you arrived at our wine bar for drinks was at the point it was closed between lunch and dinner for cleaning and that is why you were directed to our Snug Bar which opens to facilitate customers during this time. I can assure it was certainly not the case that our staff wasnt interested in serving you as you imply. The evening you dined was very busy and there was a slight delay in taking your order due to the customers dining earlier sitting on longer for extra drinks. I apologise this was the case. The fire alarm in the hotel is very sensitive to smoke and steam and we have notices clearly marking this in every bedroom. I can assure you the safety of our guests is paramount and it is the responsibilty of our duty manager to investigate the possible source of a fire when the alarm is activated. This explains the delay in responding to you as they were otherwise occupied checking where the alarm had been activated and if there was any possible danger to guests or if there was the need to evacuate the hotel. Thankfully they identified a guest had attempted to smoke in their room on the first instance and the excessive steam from a hot shower was responsible for the other alarm. I apologise this wakened you but I am sure you can appreciate every incident has to be taken seriously and properly checked. I must refute your comments where you state" the service was awful and the staff were less than helpful and pleasant". We have a very experienced team who are highly trained and skilled on customer service who work very hard and endeavour to exceed all customer expectations. I am sure you will see many tripadvisor reports which endorse this on many occasions. If you had been so unhappy during your stay it is a shame you did not speak with a senior manager in order to discuss any issues and have them addressed prior to your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here on easter Saturday night for one night, for a night out in the city

The rooms where very nice with free tea and coffee, the breakfast was excellent and the staff very attentitive. Their is also free wifi, which adds to the experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Norraccm - Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and review of your recent stay at the Waterfoot Hotel. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable visit & felt the rooms were nice, staff friendly and attentive and you appreciated the free Wifi on offer. It is always nice to receive such feedback as our staff work very hard to exceed customers expectations. We do hope you will come back to see us again soon, please make yourself known when you are booking so we can say hello and make sure you enjoy your next visit with us as much as possible.

Helen Stewart
Sales & Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed there for one night. The Hotel is located a bit outside of Derry city center, yet the location is very good for walks and scenery. Near by is a big bridge over river Foyle which offers amazing views. Walk to town will take you about 30min, but with Taxi's being so cheap in Derry you can choose either option. The Hotel staff is professional, welcoming and friendly. The hotel itself is, except the dining and party area, quite dated. In the room I stayed in, which was quite far from party area, I could not only clearly hear neighbors next door talking and walking around the room, but also the neighbors across the hallway. Until about 23.00 I could clearly hear the party going on, which then went quiet and then back again on for a half an hour. Though the room was cheap itself (45GBP) adding breakfast (which was, I thought, very plain) to it and location it might not be the best option. Never the less the staff is very friendly and trying their best to serve their customers. If you are looking for a place to sleep and party along (to crash someone's wedding) that's the place to go. If you are looking for a rest and going to bed before all your neighbors left, right and center went to bed (you clearly hear all the talking) then you may want to look for a hotel with better sound proofing. My room had coffee/tea making facility. To hotel I would make a suggestion to put free earplugs in each room - because not only neighbors can be heard, but also the parties, which you have quite often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel.

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have used this hotel before, both for family functions and for drinking with friends, and have always been happy with the service and experience. We saw the David Meade Experience advertised as a 5 course meal + show + band for £35pp which we thought was reasonable. (£70pp if you want to stay in the Hotel). We booked for 4 people (ourselves plus the inlaws) and were more than happy with the evening. The 5 course meal was very good value for money (egg salad, tomato soup, choice of either chicken or roast beef with veg, mash, roasters and yorkshire pudding and a trio of desserts and then coffee or tea) and David Meade was fantastic. The band afterwards were a typical in-house band, playing all the usual dance floor fillers. The drinks weren't the cheapest (typical hotel prices) and there didn't seem to be any special promotions on which was the only downfall. Overall a very enjoyable evening and will watch out for future similar events........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel.

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Address: Caw Roundabout | Waterside, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is situated on the Waterside area a short distance from the new peace bridge which allows easy access to the heart of Derry City.This stylish hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfoot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.