We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas party nite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfoot Hotel to your Saves list
Waterfoot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caw Roundabout | Waterside, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“christmas party nite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were invitied to an Michael Buble evening on thursday the 15th Dec and it was an amazing nite from we enetered the snug bar we were meet by friendly staff and a blazing open fire, then taken to the function room which was absouletly beautiful the meal was top class, then the entertainment finished off the evening, amazingly... id definitly recommend any nite at these premises as the staff are lovely and very helpful team !

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    83
    61
    33
    22
See reviews for
68
121
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed overnight with a friend.

Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, very warm on a cold night and extremely comfortable beds. We had dinner which was good and a cooked breakfast next morning . All in all a very pleasant experience. Doesnt look much on the outside but inside its beautiful and the staff certainly added to the pleasant atmosphere. Hotel is a little bit out of the way, but a £3/£4 taxi fare brings you into main shopping/restaurant areas.
Would go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Waterfoot, Waterfoot, how shall I put it
Exquisite, exciting and simply inviting
From start to finish, the perfect display
Of all you could imagine on your wedding day

Our wedding was a dream
Made possible by this team
Perfection was their goal
Achieved with such soul
So thank you all for a memorable day
Never to be forgotten may we say

Marcella Robinson & Chris Wright
(27/4/11)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

stayed on a Saturday night for a wedding.
Rooms and function room seemed seperate, had to go out in the rain to access function room.
Food and room for wedding was excellent.
Rooms spacious, nothing fancy and have all the basics.
too hungover to experience breakfast!!!

Room Tip: try one close to reception maybe.. can be long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night's R&R and a bit of Christmas shopping in the City.
Hotel - Rather drab outside certainly more glitzy and modern in the main foyer and bar/restaraunt.
Check in check out - Swift and with a smile - no complaints.
The Room 1 - Basic but clean. Bathroom decor wont be to everybody's liking but hey, its a bathroom! Some issues here - our first room had a rather strange smell which I still can't find the right description for. The bed had a hollow on one side with a lump in the middle. The room was right outside the generator house which generated a noise like someone using a drill or small kango on the wall outside. I'm quite sure rooms either side and above will experience the same problem. Had the hotel been booked out this would have been a real issue. As it was, we were reallocated a new room within minutes.
Room 2 - Much bigger and generally more acceptable. Again clean with a comfortable bed.
We were a bit concerned about possible noise from Christmas functions. To be fair the hotel points this out as a possibility on the booking confirmation. That said, there were no issues on this front and a full nights uninterrupted sleep was had.
Food - Didn't dine in the evening. Breakfast was hassle free with an adequate choice of cereals/juices/fruits/bread etc and a full breakfast. Food was satisfactory. No complaints here.
Definitely a tale of two rooms, hence the title of this review. We would return to the hotel on the basis of our second room.

Room Tip: On account of the generator noise I would say avoid room 104 and adjacent rooms at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have used the Waterfoot’s Rossmore Suite several times to run courses the latest one being 12th November 2011. The staff were great very attentive and anything I asked for was delivered. Tea/coffee breaks were on schedule, and the lunch in the restaurant which was very enjoyable, on time, right temperature and very generous portions. My self, the course tutors and course participant were very impressed by the service we received.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent conference. I am delighted you were
happy with the service and food provided. I am also aware you have confirmed additional future conferences and private functions with the hotel which is a great reflection on how impressed you are. Thank you once again, I will pass your feedback on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Excellent food and ambiance and the staff are all friendly, helpful and attentive.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
We appreciate you have taken the time to send us feedback on your recent visit. Thank you for your kind comments on the food, ambience and service. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to see you back again in the near future. Make sure you say hello when you come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Address: Caw Roundabout | Waterside, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is situated on the Waterside area a short distance from the new peace bridge which allows easy access to the heart of Derry City.This stylish hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfoot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.