We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour House Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour House Inn
Save
You added Harbour House Inn to your Saves list
4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 OEX, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this place is excellent for money. they do a deal called captains table with a bottle of wine and a double room for 80 a nite. if your gonna stay in any room ask for room 8. its lovely at night looking over newcastle. the rooms are spotless. the staff are friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night and could have stayed for another week, loved the food, staff very friendly especially Carla (i think that was her name!). Great room with sea view, they should have pictures of their rooms on their website! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We recently had a meal at the Harbour House Inn but were not very impressed. Firstly it seemed too much trouble to get us a table, no suggestion of waiting at the bar until one was free, luckily other customers said they were leaving and let us have their table. I asked about the restaurant next door and was told it was fully booked although no-one used it the whole time we were there. Most of the staff were friendly, although one girl seemed as if she couldn't be bothered and another one called Francis was quite rude. The food was just OK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just dropped in to find a room, the bartender and other staff were great. We pushed to get a sea view room (the young lady seemed to be surprised we wanted one!) It was wonderful, with windows looking out to sea, only a flight of stairs to both supper and breakfast, and locals playing great music in the pub at night. We really enjoyed our stay, and our conversation with Frank and Brenda in the morning. (With good advice on where to stay the next night) The room was basic, all we needed, and the bathroom was clean, large, and new.

Room Tip: I'd go for a sea view every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Newcastle. Very reasonable price, great food and lovely staff - friendly and very helpful. Room was fine - very clean with nice bathroom, tea & coffee facilities and flat screen tv and very good music on the Saturday night. No complaints at all and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was a little difficult in making a booking by email but this was more than offset by the freindliness of all the staff. The rooms were clean and sunny and the short walk to the city center was most enjoyable with the sea breeze on your right and the Mourne Mountains on your left

Room Tip: Don't carry big or heavy suitcases as the stairs are narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I came here for the festival day initially last wknd and had a brill day! Then came on Saturday evening for a Drink, a wee irish band were playing, such a lovely atmosphere, views are class too :)) would love to stay here sometime... So cosy and relaxing. Hopefully will get to!! Staff are dead on too. Cheers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Inn

Address: 4 South Promenade, Newcastle BT33 OEX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is on the South Promenade at Newcastle Harbour: The harbour is among the most richly historic areas of Newcastle. Home to many longstanding families, the area around the pier has a long association with the sea. The origins of the current harbour date back to the 1820's, when a new pier was created by Lord Annesley to replace the old one. One of the chief functions of the pier was to act as a loading point for Mourne granite, which was quarried in the hills above the harbour. If you stand on the shorter arm of the pier and look up towards the mountain you can see a path cut through the trees leading to the now defunct quarry on Millstone Mountain. In the last century, stone was quarried here and dispatched down this track to the harbour by railtrucks. It was loaded on to ships (known as Stone Boats) and used to build docks in Belfast and Liverpool and the courthouse gaol in nearby Downpatrick ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Newcastle
Harbour Hotel Newcastle
Harbour House Inn Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.