We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fun family day out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourne Foods Cycle Trail

Mourne Foods Cycle Trail
98 Bryansford Road | The Enniskeen Country House Hotel, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland
44 2843723933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Activities in Newcastle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 'Mourne Foods Cycle Trail' has been devised by the Enniskeen Country House hotel in association with local Mourne food producers, to showcase the wonderful artisan food in this area of Northern Ireland. The Trail offers visitors stunning scenery with delicious local food, through a self-guided tour by bicycle; gentle cycling either downhill or on flat ground - electric bikes are available!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
1 review
“Fantastic fun family day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We did the Mourne Food Cycle Trail with friends last weekend and had a wonderful day. Our group ranged from novice to experienced cyclists and all were catered for. The trail through the forest gave the kids a real sense of freedom and adventure, there was plenty of time to stop and admire the surroundings and we even saw the film set for the new Dracula movie! The bikes were good quality with all the accessories/ maps etc provided, and the cycle route all flat or downhill so enjoyable rather than arduous. We finished up at the Enniskeen hotel for a meal and the food and service were excellent as always. If you are looking for a fun activity that all the family will enjoy this is definitely to be recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We decided to give the cycle trail ago Monday past! I was all up for it, but my girlfriend not so much at the start as she thought it would be strenuous mountain biking...but that soon changed!! We we're able to choose our own route, so starting at the heart of the mournes in Spelga Dam we cycled down hill through fantastic scenery into Tollymore forest! There we took a path kissing the edge of the river the whole way, with a easy to read map and attraction spots hi-lighted along the way...including the scene sets for Game of Thrones and the upcoming Dracula that we cycled right through! Fantastic sights, fantastic bikes, fantastic path and fantastic service!! Will defo be back again soon...highly recommended to anyone in the area! Young - Old, novice-pro cyclist, couples, families...you won't regret the Mourne foods cycle trail!
Thanks again Andy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cycle Trail!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We decieded to give the cycle trail ago Monday past! I was all up for it, but my girlfriend not so much at the start as she thought it would be strenous mountain biking...but that soon changed!! We we're able to choose our own route, so starting at the heart of the mournes in Spelga Dam we cycled down hill through fantastic scenery into Tollymore forest! There we took a path kissing the edge of the river the whole way, with a easy to read map and attraction spots hi-lighted along the way...including the scene sets for Game of Thrones and the upcoming Dracula that we cycled right through! Fantastic sights, fantastic bikes, fantastatic path and fantastic service!! Will defo be back again soon...highly reccommended to anyone in the area! Young - Old, novice-pro cyclist, couples, families...you won't regret the Mourne foods cycle trail!
Thanks again Andy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A fabulous adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You should definitely take the cycle trip with Andy of Clearsky Adventure if you want to see the mountains,cycle through the forest and enjoy the farm produce along the way.
We celebrated our wedding anniversary by booking 2 electric bikes with Andy in advance. He met us at Slieve Donard Hotel and brought us in a van to Spelga Dam where after a short practice we headed off. On the way he gave a great history of the area and pointed out the magnificent scenic points. A great personal guide!

We then headed through the Forest and enjoyed the bikes with no effort but seeing everything.
Afternoon tea in Enniskeen Hotel is a must and you wont have such a treat for a long time. We cycled back to our hotel after a great day and Andy picked up the bikes. He is a great host and guide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy Chickens and tasty icecream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want to taste the best ice cream you've ever had in your entire life then you need to go on the mourn food cycle trail. Not only do you get to taste delicious ice cream but the bike ride itself is one of the most scenic I've ever been on, the Mourne mountains is where parts of Game of Thrones has been filmed so its a real treat if your a fan of the show. The free range chicken farm we visited showed us exactly the type of environment chickens need to be happy.
Sensational and such value for money

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mourne Foods Cycle Trail also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Mourne Foods Cycle Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourne Foods Cycle Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.