We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Briers Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Briers Country House to your Saves list
Briers Country House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is more a large B&B than a hotel. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. The grounds are lovely too. I liked the location of the house, being a little out of town, down a country road but not so far away that if you did have to pop into the shops it would only take five or ten minutes. The breakfast room was very large too and breakfast itself was very nice. There is a nice little sitting/reading room where you can make a cup of tea or coffee along with a selection of books and board games. Wifi is available although the signal was very weak. We could not pick it up at all in our room and had to go downstairs to the reception desk to get it. Even then it was still average. Overall, a very pleasant stay though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    21
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Top ratings. Great location: 5 minutes from cute town of Newcastle and Tollymore Forest Park (wonderful park for easy hiking...stone bridges, lush foliage etc).
The owners are charming and so welcoming, they'll do anything for you and like great hosts, they even anticipate your needs. They suggested a great place for dinner, called and made reservations for us and on our return home, they had placed hot water bottles in our bed ( it was not cold at all by their standards but since they knew we were from S. California, they thought we'd like this--and we did!). The room was charming and had everything we needed and the breakfasts were excellent. Our only regret is that we only had one night there..wish we had more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant week staying at The Briers, as the perfect base to walk the Mourne Mountains. Our first trip to N Ireland and what a fantastic place- both the Briers and the area . We had a great welcome from Suzan; excellent breakfasts; nothing too much trouble. Additional of hot water bottles, sweets; flask prepared for day trips, our dirty boots were not a problem. Amazing garden to sit in- in sunshine! Suzan recommended the best pub to eat in. We went there every night.
The friendship that we received from Suzan and Brian was replicated by everyone we met.
If we lived in N Ireland we would go there for weekend escapes. Thank you both

Room Tip: Room 4 was great- plenty of room and fantastic views of the Mourne Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Briers is located in a stunning are of N. Ireland, just up the road from the sea below the Mourne Mountains in lovely Newcastle. Our room was comfy with a great view of the mountains and a wonderful bath. Our hostess, Suzan, was so helpful and flexible. When I had trouble on yet another hard Irish bed, she made up the bed with extra comforters and pillows and I felt truly pampered. She also brings you a hot water bottle before sleep and given the cold Irish spring, we were truly grateful. Breakfast was a lavish affair - try the N. Ireland french toast - perfect! And she gave us good suggestions on how to spend our time there - we had a great drive to and walk in the Silent Valley and then a drive over the mountains - gorgeous!

If were' ever in this part of the world again, we'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a comfy bed if you need one. She told me the room we were in (with a new bed!) was actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

this is another shining example of how a beautiful family business should be run, susan and brian give us another great friendly and warming stay with a huge breakfast that would choke a donkey lol...we have become addicted to the briers as we class it our wee secret place away from chaos.. I highly recommend staying there as the silence is deafening and the constant.. its handy to everywhere and has a beautiful view from every window of mourne mountains which is awesome, susan,brian and family couldnt be more welcoming and i cant wait to go back (even if its just for the award winning scrambled eggs) !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having stayed with Suzan and Brian 3-4 times previously, there was nowhere else we were going to stay on our weekend away. As usual Suzan was very welcoming and had everything ready for us. She slipped hot water bottles into our bed and as usual the breakfast deserves a massive 10 out of 10, reason enough to go back to be honest. we have recommended The Briers before and we recommend it again. Thanks so much for everything and we will be back soon. Clare and Marty

Room Tip: we have stayed in room 4 and room 3, we would def prefer room 4 and will ask for this next time we b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Briers Country House for two Nights as Part of a trip around Ireland to visit family over Christmas. Our experience was exactly as we expected after reading reviews - the location was beautiful, the welcome warm and breakfast very great! We arrived early to drop in our luggage and Susan was very accommodating in providing us with tea and coffee at 11am, before we headed into Newcastle, where we spent the day exploring the town. She gave us some recommendations for coffee shops and restaurants, even reserved us a table at a local bistro called Vanilla for that evening. Our Room (4) was big, clean and had a double and a single bed and a simply wonderful view. When we returned to our room it was warm and cosy, and the best part was there were hot bottles in the bed! A very pleasant and thoughtful suprise, even though it wasn't even so cold outside!
Breakfast was large and tasty, and there was a huge selection of yoghurts and fruit etc. Susan chatted to us over breakfast and asked how our evening had been.
We will be back to the Briers on our next visit to Ireland, and would Highly recommend it to any of our friends.
Tomas & Franzi

Room Tip: Room 4 was roomy and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briers Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.