We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, super breakfast in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golf Links House

Golf Links House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Links House
Save
You added Golf Links House to your Saves list
109 Dundrum Road, Newcastle BT33 0LN, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean, super breakfast in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I had just a one night stay on 2nd July in a hotel-standard room, very clean with shower and all usual facilities. Breakfast was excellent, wide choice of cereals and fresh fruit salad followed by a super-sized cooked breakfast which was served to your table (something you don't often get elsewhere). The location is fabulous, backing onto the world famous Royal County Down Golf Links with a 10/15 minute walk into the town with Slieve Donard in the background. Yes, the great weather helped but the value in this place will not be beaten. Look forward to a return soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I and my family have just return from a nice night at Golf links B and B in Newcastle. We where welcome by Eileen the owner a very nice lady who made us feel very welcome. We where also allowed to check in early,

The room was off a good size and had a double and single bed. The ensuite is modern although had a slight smell of stale wastewater coming I think from the shower drain pipe. I have read about problems with toilet flushing which we did have on one occassion but nothing of concern. The room was clean and the housekeeper was very helpful at getting us a travel cot and helping put it up. She was very nice to my 9 month daughter and always said hello as we passed her.

The B and B has a bar downstairs, which i think is great for a guest house. once again the bar staff where great as was the restaurant manager who made us feel relaxed and made every effort to look after us.

We did eat in the restaurant and the food was very good and at £15.50 for a 3 couse meal and a house bottle of wine for £13.00 cant be bad.

The location is close to the town center and seems to be in a nice safe area. I would say about 15 mins walk and the Golf course is on the back door. There is a local shop and off-sales close buy which also houses a Bank machine. (The B and B doesnt except card only cash).

All in all this is a B and B, The staff are all very nice and make you feel welcome, the rooms are clean and off good size and the breakfast isnt bad and for £60 pound a night for two. You cant go wrong.

You will always read bad reviews on places, but you cant please everyone. Remember it may look like a hotel but it is a B and B and that is reflected in the price.

So dont rule this place out and go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Have cash to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golflinks, Owner at Golf Links House, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Many thanks for your recent review. It is always good to hear feedback and especially when its positive. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was especially good to hear that you mentioned the fact that we are only a guest house, even though we do have a bar and restaurant. Some of our guests see this and automatically assume we are a hotel, not just a Guest house with excellent facilities for our customers.
It was good to hear that you had a good experience in our restaurant, with good customer service, as this is something that is important to us, and its nice to hear we are getting it right. We sincerely hope to see you and your family again soon. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Perhaps I am used to the privacy that comes with a hotel stay and am somewhat unfair but we felt that we were being sized up and were asked a few too many questions by the manager for our liking during our stay at golflinks.
Im afraid I couldnt recommend this place to any of our friends in Manchester because many of them would be offended by intrusive and personal questions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golflinks, Owner at Golf Links House, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Many thanks for your recent review of our property. Feedback is very important to us and we value it highly and take it on board. I'm sorry that you found our manager obtrusive. We do encourage our staff to interact as much as possible with our guests and I suppose this may be seen as asking too many questions? We do have quite a few visitors from the mainland and most enjoy the 'Craic' and the Irish welcome and we feel that this is really the big difference between us as a guest house and a hotel. Its the more personal service. We are genuinely sorry that you feel you would prefer a more impersonal approach as in the large hotels, but its not something we encourage in our team. Once again many thanks for your review, and you'll most certainly be welcome if your ever passing this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The location of the hotel is ideal with the bus stand and railway staton at walkable distance. The mall road and the ridge is also 15 to 20 minutes walk from this place. The geatest advantage is it not being n the mall road, you dont have to climb up the slope everytime.

The bathrooms are clean, rooms are spacious with clean bedsheets. There is continous flow of hot and cold water. The staff was also courtious and helpful. Can comment n food as we never had in the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at the Golflinks House.
Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable with nice bedding.
The bathroon was clean with lovely soft towels.
What can I say about the breakfasts. One word FANTASTIC.
Eileen the landlady was very friendly and welcoming.
We did not use the restaurant but if the breakfasts were anything to go by I am sure it would be very good.

We would not hesitate to use this guest house again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Great food and good atmosphere, we realy enjoyed it and so did our baby!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Arrived in evening had problem getting service at reception desk, place was in near darkness, restaurant was closed and this in busy season i find strange. Room was small ,only chair to sit on was a restaurant chair,and shower no power. Told owner in morning i was leaving never had breakfast or offered seeing as i paid for it. Am sorry to say i would not tell my friends to stay, the web site is not honest picture.
Could be a lovely busy place with right managment,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Links House

Address: 109 Dundrum Road, Newcastle BT33 0LN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Golf Links House Hotel Newcastle
Golf Links House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Links House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.