We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugh McCann's

Hugh McCann's
121 Central Promenade, Newcastle BT33 0EU, Northern Ireland
028 43722487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $5 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Hugh McCann’s is family business that has been on the go for almost 40 yrs, the building is around 200yrs old and has been sympathetically restored to preserve old world charm, yet with all modern comforts and fabulous design taking advantage of the stunning situation.The building nestles between the mountains and the sea. The cafe/restaurant looks onto the promenade and out to sea, the bar area and beer garden and wedding function room have views of the mourne mountains.The Bedrooms have either sea or mountain views. Ample parking for coaches is available nearby. Conference facilities include breathtaking 'breakout' areas, and fabulous opportunities for team building activities such as a walk in the hills or volunteering at a local national nature reserve.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We ate here on our second night in Newcastle. We just chanced upon it and wow were we pleased. The ambiance was wonderful. The food was 4 star and so plentiful that neither of us could finish our meals. I would love the recipe for the seafood chowder as it was the best I have ever eaten. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone Ireland. This ranks as one of the best restaurants we've ever eaten in.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    22
    8
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Christmas Party NIght”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just had the most fantastic evening out in Hugh McCanns restaurant for a Christmas party night. On this particular evening they were catering for approx 120 people and everything seemed to run perfectly. Our particular group of 40+ did not have one complaint about either the service or the food. Everything arrived at our tables piping hot and the service was excellent. The meals were set, given the fact that it was a party night the choices were either turkey and ham or roast beef. Both delicious. The waiting staff were totally attentive all night and we rounded off the evening at a brilliant disco with Claire at the helm. Really great craic. The price for all of this was £15.95 a head. Amazing value for a brilliant night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok Food, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a meal here on a Friday nite, it was pretty quiet and not many here. The food was ok, nothing special, we had steak and lamb shanks, with mash and chips. I would try it again but wouldnt go out of my way to make a visit. The staff were very nice and friendly though, and maybe if there had been more people with a bit more atmosphere our visit might have been better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best establishments in the Mournes if not THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't go wrong visiting here. The food is Heavenly, the surroundings sublime and the views from upstairs are spectacular front and back.
No trip is worthwhile without going here at least once

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Classy Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We found this place after exploring the town on a cold evening, and we were enticed by the roaring fires. The interior had a modern twist that we really liked, and it worked well with the more traditional aspects. The service was extremely friendly and helpful, and the food was gorgeous. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh McCann's also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Hugh McCann's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugh McCann's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.