We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Slieve Donard Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The views from the spa and lighthouse lounge were amazing and overall we found the hotel extremely blissful and relaxing . The perfect location for a chilled trip. We had dinner and breakfast included in the package both were accecptable and with some tasty dishes, such as duck main course and pecan pie, but the pana cotta dessert was curdled and completely wrong. Breakfast was busy and had a lovely family atmosphere. I would have to say that the service is not necessarily what people might expect as "5 star" but mostly staff were friendly enough. The room was spacious as was the bathroom but not as modern as the pictures suggest but the beds are extremely comfortable and honestly one of the best hotel beds I have been in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for your kind words on the scenery and Spa facilities.

I have spoken to the Chef regarding your panncotta and he has asked that I pass on his apologies. I agree that the dessert should not have been served to you as it was and would like to assure you that had this been brought to the attention your server we eould have replaced it immediatley. We will certainly take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    349
    188
    108
    56
See reviews for
270
749
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I spent 8 days in Ireland on a golf holiday. I spent one night at the Slieve Donard Hotel. It is adjacent to one of the best golf courses in the world, Royal County Down. The room was very comfortable, including the excellent bedding and bath facility. The hotel also included an excellent spa. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, including selection and quality. The hotel is right on the sea and has excellent views. Service was efficient. All in all an excellent hotel and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa.

We are exceptionally lucky to be located as close as we are to the Royal County Down Golf Club, one of the world's finest, making us the perfect base for any golfing holiday. I am so pleased that our service and facilities matched the world class golfing right on our doorstep!

We hope you will return soon to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently went down for a break to celebrate 3 glorious years of marriage. Disappointed at certain aspects. Upon arrival, we were told our rooms were not ready and waited until 15:30 until our rooms were ready. Hotel was over busy due to two weddings.

Rooms are clean, big and comfortable, bed was too soft and too high for my liking and the showers are designed for people under 4 ft....I had to crouch to wash my hair and I'm only 6ft!

The Spa is incredible, the view of the Mournes is spectacular!

Upon having a drink before going for our evening meal, we ordered 1 x Murphys (No Guinness can you believe!!!) and a spiriti and soft drink = £10.40 - V expensive! Needless to say we didn't hang around!

Breakfast in the morning was sub standard.....the fried breakfast was rated at 2/10!! I expected more.

Overall, the setting and atmosphere at the Slieve Donard oozes class, but the little touches let it down! Its very expensive and you will be forced to eat and drink in Newcastle! Would we be back?? Possibly, but it won't be top our agenda!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you would like to return.

Regarding the areas of concern highlighted in your review I am glad that they have been brought to my attention so that I may fully investigate.

The showers in all of our rooms are a standard height and should be accessible for all guests. I apologise if you had some discomfort in using your shower, shower heads should be adjustable.

We appreciate that there are aspects of any stay that won't be to everyones taste but we will certainly take your comments into consideration and make any necessary improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recent deal for two nights B&B and one evening dinner in Oak restaurant.
ROOM: Upgraded to superior room, without extra cost at booking time. Fabulous big room with good ensuite. The room had a big window with a view out over the sea and we were visited every morning by a real friendly seagull who sat outside and peered in through our window. We had the following facilities - iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making, safe on floor of wardrobe (not attached to wall and too low for older users to access readily). Bedroom was clean and bedding spotless but more stringent housekeeping care needed in ensuite (long dark hairs on floor and grime behind washbasin pedestal). I was able to have WIFI reception in my room for £10 per day (free in reception and bar areas). I thought this was a wee bit expensive so will use facility in bar on next visit.
RECEPTION: Very welcoming and easy check-in and out.
FOOD: Menu read very well with lots of choices available. However, the quality of the food (over two nights as we bought an extra night's meal) was variable. Our meal on the first night was really lovely but it was not good on night two and we wondered if there had been a change of chef on the second night. The melon starter was very hard-unripe and the loin of lamb was very tough. Partner's wild garlic dumplings were stodgy and inedible. The breakfast food was much better with a fabulous option of porridge with Bushmills whiskey. We were disappointed that the Percy French bistro at the end of the avenue up to the hotel was closed at the start of the week when we went but maybe that happens out of season. We had planned to eat there on our second night.
SPA: Lovely pool and hot tub but all the loungers were taken from early morning and covered with towels even though the pool users were not about. The reception staff dealt with this for me and had the towels removed. Sadly, by that time all the lounger cushions were very wet and uncomfortable. So I would suggest that if you want to have the amazing experience of lying on a lounger and looking out over the sea and the mountains of Mourne, go down early in the day. I did not have a spa treatment on this trip but, having stayed here last year with my daughter and having had a treatment, I can confirm that it was really luxurious and relaxing.
We will return and try to get a seaview room but will only do so on a B&B basis.
PLUSSES: Fabulous views, magnificent beach and great setting. The restaurant near the pool (I think it was called The Lighthouse) does great good value lunch type snacks. Grab a sofa there, if possible, views while eating are to die for. There is also a nice hotel shop, to the back of the reception, where you can purchase nice and sometimes quirky gifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room looking out over the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your February stay at the hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your time with us. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for highlighting the many positive aspects of the hotel as well as the areas for improvement. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were able to provide assistance in order to resolve any concerns you had.

I will use your review as a tool to make improvements on the areas highlighted. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, you have to love the location of the hotel. Situated on the seafront and looking straight on to the Mourne Mountains. It's a wonderful view.

My stay was very disappointing however. To start it was fine, room looked tidy and staff were friendly upon arrival. Went for a beer in the downstairs lobby which was a nice relaxing area.

Dinner was in the Percy French restaurant, food was good but the noise was a little too much. I had the brie starter which states you get a piece of soda bread with it, and I didn't get the soda bread. The steak starter was great though, very tender. And the dessert was great too.

This is the part that it all fell apart. After dinner my partner and I went to our room to sleep, only to find that our room was right on top of a wedding party. We could hear every beat of music and scream from each individual. On pulling the bed sheets back, the mattress protector was spotted in alot of blood stains. I was not impressed and went to speak with staff in the lobby.

At the lobby, I was told that due to the wedding noise I could be moved room. However I woupd be downgraded with no offer of a refund. When I said I wasn't happy at this I was told I would have to wait until the end of the wedding just. I explained about the bed sheets too, and was told the sheets would be changed straight away. No one ever changed the sheets.

Next morning upon leaving the hotel, I spoke to the manageress, who was helpful with her apology and very pleasant.

This was my first trip to the hotel and sadly it will be my last. This is my review of the hotel resort and sorry to anyone who reads this and thinks this is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointing aspects of your stay. It is our aim for all guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and I regret that this has not been the case. I am pleased that you received excellent service from our Duty Manager in resolving your concerns but agree that your experience was not acceptable. I have spoken with our laundry supplier regarding the bed linen and I am confident there will be no further occurrences of this nature.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to provide you with the appropriate level of service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a super weekend at Slieve Donard Hotel. Room had a great view of the sea and we slept in a bed offering pure comfort. Staff very friendly, attentive and smiling at all times. Food was delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Our son joined us for dinner in the evening and declared himself very impressed. We will be back! Thanks SDH!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa.

I am very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for choosing the hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. I will share your review with all staff members as recognition of their hard work.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Only was able to give 3 days notice for a one night stay for our anniversary and asked for a room with a view, didn't get one which was fair enough at short notice. When we arrived in our room the view was poor but i was pleased that the hotel were thoughtful enough to leave a card for my wife and a few sweets. However the card was a 'Happy Birthday' card not a 'Happy Anniversay' one which took the shine of things. Ah well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Regarding your request for an upgrade to a sea view room please be assured that when there is availability we try to accommodate our guests requests however during your stay all of these rooms were occupied.

Please accept our apologies for the mix up with your wife's card. It is always our aim to acknowledge guests' special occasions however, in our eagerness we seem to have made a mistake. Please be assured that we will take greater care in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#2 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.