We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain View Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mountain View Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is our 2nd visit now, this is a real jewel of a B&B. We arrived (wife, teenaged son and I) to the smell of freshly baked bread wafting from the kitchen as we were welcomed by Claire and Brian. All relevant detail on: wifi; breakfast; places to visit; things to do; and a genuine interest in our story too. The rooms were fresh, tastefully decorated and well equipped. Bathrooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Beds were very comfortable and a peaceful night was had by all. The bedrooms open on to a fabulous guest sitting area fully equipped with TV, DVD etc. and with wood-burning-stove. I managed to get out for a 5km loop-run before breakfast which was excellent, it gave me the appetite for the breakfast feast that included a great selection of fruit, juices and we got to sample a variety of Claire’s freshly baked bread, cooked Newcastle breakfast included option on poached, fried, scrambled eggs with filtered coffee and a choice of teas. Brian’s fabulous garden with the Slieve Donard mountain view backdrop was the catalyst for my wife, son and I to take a trek in the Tollymore forest park just 2km from the B&B. Can’t wait for our return trip, Thanks Brian & Claire

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
60
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed just the one night on 14th June. We had a beautiful twin bedded room with a fabulous en suite power shower and bath, The decor in the bedroom was very tasteful and the beds were very comfy with lovely bedding.There was tea and coffee in the room and a dressing room! Brian and Claire gave us a lovely welcome and we were served coffee and cake when we arrived. The guest lounge was very comfortable with 2 lovely sofas, a wood burner stove and a flat screen tv. The garden was wonderfully cared for and the view of the Mourne Mts was wonderful at the back of the garden.We're advised of eating places and "The Burrendale"Hotel and Country Club was just a few mins drive or 20 min walk. We had a bar meal which was fine. The breakfast had cereals, fresh fruit salad, and then an ulster fry, eggs poached,boiled or scrambled with bacon or bagels.We had toast and wheaten bread as well. As we only had a day Brian and Claire lent us their os map and we did the silent and ben crum reservoir as the weather was mixed. There is also a guide book for guests of suggested walks etc and some are on the doorstep from the b&b. We left the map back and headed off to our next destination. We had a lovely stay at "MountainView" and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The twin bedded room has a lovely view of the back garden and mts. It has plenty of space and a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of our B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 1 night at Mountain View, we had a beautiful clean room with ensuite (excellent shower), the cooked breakfast was delicious with home baked bread. Claire and Brian made us very welcome, I would highly recommend this B&B, we will certainly book with them again when we are back in Newcastle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Mountain View B&B was fantastic! Brian & Claire have a piece of heaven. The setting is gorgeous with a beautiful garden and mountain views right out our bedroom window. All of the accommodations were immaculately clean, cheerfully decorated and full of thoughtful amenities. Brian & Claire were wonderful hosts welcoming us with kind and caring open arms. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning catered to us. They were more than happy to accommodate our vegan lifestyle! They were so helpful in recommending places to visit and eat and it rounded out our trip perfectly. Our only regret is that we didn't have longer to stay to do all that we wanted to do. We are already talking about our return trip! Thank you Brian & Claire!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
You can both come back at any time. We really enjoyed having you to stay and were very impressed at you entering the Mourne Marathon. Thank you very much for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We wish we had spent more time here because there are so many things to see and do and Mountain View is centrally located to every thing: the beach, the town, superb affordable restaurants, the parks, the mountains and all the wonderful walks. Brian and Claire were great hosts and thought of every detail. The room was beautifully decorated and quiet plus it had a great view of Brian's amazing garden. We highly recommend Mountain View and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and look forward to seeing you both on your return. Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcombcool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent two nights. Brian and CLaire were great hosts. Location and views were top knotch. Please was well appointed and clean. WOnderful garden in the back yard as well! The next time I am in NI, I won't hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for a great review and look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desselgem belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

very nice, service minded and concerned people
very good breakfast, also fresh fruit
nice sitting-room with a cosy stove
romantic garden with a nice view on the Mourne Mountains
the best bed & breakfast of our tour in Northern Ireland 5/5, don't hesitate to book here, and please do the greetings from us to Claire and Brian !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We were pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us during you visit to Ireland. Thank you for writing us such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.