We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we come back?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
1 review
“When can we come back?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Mountain View B&B was fantastic! Brian & Claire have a piece of heaven. The setting is gorgeous with a beautiful garden and mountain views right out our bedroom window. All of the accommodations were immaculately clean, cheerfully decorated and full of thoughtful amenities. Brian & Claire were wonderful hosts welcoming us with kind and caring open arms. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning catered to us. They were more than happy to accommodate our vegan lifestyle! They were so helpful in recommending places to visit and eat and it rounded out our trip perfectly. Our only regret is that we didn't have longer to stay to do all that we wanted to do. We are already talking about our return trip! Thank you Brian & Claire!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
You can both come back at any time. We really enjoyed having you to stay and were very impressed at you entering the Mourne Marathon. Thank you very much for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
60
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We wish we had spent more time here because there are so many things to see and do and Mountain View is centrally located to every thing: the beach, the town, superb affordable restaurants, the parks, the mountains and all the wonderful walks. Brian and Claire were great hosts and thought of every detail. The room was beautifully decorated and quiet plus it had a great view of Brian's amazing garden. We highly recommend Mountain View and are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and look forward to seeing you both on your return. Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcombcool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent two nights. Brian and CLaire were great hosts. Location and views were top knotch. Please was well appointed and clean. WOnderful garden in the back yard as well! The next time I am in NI, I won't hesitate to book again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for a great review and look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desselgem belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

very nice, service minded and concerned people
very good breakfast, also fresh fruit
nice sitting-room with a cosy stove
romantic garden with a nice view on the Mourne Mountains
the best bed & breakfast of our tour in Northern Ireland 5/5, don't hesitate to book here, and please do the greetings from us to Claire and Brian !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We were pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us during you visit to Ireland. Thank you for writing us such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 1 night at Mountain view. We had a beautiful double bedded room with en suite. The B & B end of the house consisted of 2 bedrooms and a living/ dining area. This meant that the space for guests was very private and spacious. The decor was beautiful throughout consisting of many items from the owner's travels which added interest. It was exceptionally clean and the rooms were of a very high standard - much better that many hotels we have stayed in. The couple were very friendly and attentive. At the back was a lovely garden which was accessible for guests. The breakfast was of a very high standard. Juice, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, cooked breakfast etc. Tablecloth and napkins, lovely china added a special touch. We were also greeted with tea and cake when we arrived. Good location close to many walks, towns and within walking distance of Burrendale hotel for evening meal. We couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Both rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We enjoyed having you stay with us at Mountain View and would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautiful room, gorgeous view of the Mourne mountains. We really enjoyed our stay here. Got great advice from Brian and Claire about where to hike in the mountains. Went with another couple and had our own part of the house. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Climbing the highest mountain in Northern Ireland and then relaxing afterwards in town is a great way to spend a break away from home. We enjoyed having you spend time with us and hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My Dad and I had a brilliant stay at Mountain View. We were fortunate enough to be blessed with excellent weather & had a great day on the Mourne mountains whilst we were there. The view alone from the garden is worth the stay in itself!

Claire and Brian were superb hosts, couldn't do enough to help - including a very handy car drop-off to our start on the hills, which was above and beyond what you would expect, especially given the excellent value for a night's stay. The breakfast was also extremely good, including proper Irish potato bread!

I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone who happens to pass through Newcastle, which also incidentally is a really lovely little seaside town, with some very good restaurants and views up to Slieve Donard.

James and Paul (Lake District & Leeds)

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room, which was en suite and had everything we needed including little touches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were delighted to receive your wonderful review. You were rather lucky to get such good weather for your hike into the mountains, the one day that week when the sun shone and it wasn't too cold. Thank you for visiting us, we enjoyed having you both and hope that if you are in our area again you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.