We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

we stayed with brian and claire for 2 nights and from the start they where really genuine friendly people they could not do enought o make you welcome i would highly recommend this great place to stay for a short break the breakfast and service was 5 star and look forward to staying here again in the near future great people really great

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Manager at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a great review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had an enjoyable time in Newcastle, apart from the rainy morning's golf on the last day! We loved having you and look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thank you Brian & Claire for making us feel so at home in your lovely B&B. We booked this 4 star B&B from reading previous reviews and the fact it only has 2 ensuite rooms (a double & a twin), along with its own private large sitting room, with TV, solid fuel stove and wonderful views out to an amazing garden with the Mourne mountains as a back-drop! We booked both rooms for 2 nights but could easily have stayed a week! Brian & Claire are there for their guests to make sure they have everything they need, give information about the walks in the area, providing a map of the Mournes and when you return, they love to hear how you got on whilst offering tea/coffee & homemade cake!! We felt like we were visiting friends for a few days, its hard to think that there will be other guests staying after we left, as Brian & Claire made us feel as we were their 'special' and 'only' guests. I am sure everyone goes away feeling the same! Will be back. We still have so much to see and walks to do in Newcastle & Co. Down. Thanks very much, from the McDermott family, Co. Derry.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, with power showers in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Wow, we are overwhelmed! Thank you so much for this fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute booking here and were warmly greeted by Brian. The accommodation is excellen! Would be perfect for 2 couples or a family as a very comfortable living room joins the two bedrooms where guests would have their own self contained accommodation. Breakfast was gorgeous, Claire made sure we had everything we needed including homemade bread and always a fresh pot of tea! The amazing gardens have a fabulous view of Slieve Donard. Claire and Brian made our stay really enjoyable. Only wish we could of stayed for longer. We will definitely be back! Best B&B I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and grateful that you took the time to write a such a lovely review. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I and our adult daughter stayed here overnight while attending a wedding in nearby Newcastle - our only regret is that we didnt have longer time to spend. Brian and Claire are very attentive hosts and their home is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and ensuite bedrooms are very confortable and well appointed. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and there are choices of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals beautfully laid out on a side table.
We will certainly book with them again if we are ever back in Newcastle and will recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for a really positive review. Claire & I were very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Contacted Claire the owner and on booking agreed an early arrival. On arriving we were greeted by Claire and her husband Brian (joint owners) and offered coffee/tea. We were in a hurry so shown to our bedroom immediately, which was spacious and immaculately clean and had a wonderful en-suite. Bed after arriving from a party was really comfortable. At breakfast the following morning we were told to help ourselves to a choice of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and cereal, while a fantastic cooked breakfast was prepared (no grease here - thank goodness). We love our coffee and were supplied in abundance.
The owners Brian and Claire were super hosts and we were really made to feel at home in this super well equipped bed and breakfast. The owners were really friendly and couldn't do enough for Alison and I.
Take a tip - never mind the Slieve Donard, The Burrendale or The Donard Hotel and stay here - far superior and in peak season for two - £70 per night for Bed and Breakfast it is well worth it. Never thought I would say I would come back to Newcastle for a staycation - we certainly will if we can stay here again.
To Brian and Claire - we will be back for sure and many thanks for your hospitality and a welcome stay!

Alison and Trevor

Room Tip: Simple - stay here and forget expensive hotels and also enjoy the wonderful views and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It's having reviews like this that make what we do so worthwhile. We loved having you both stay with us and enjoyed all the coversations we had over the two days. It is great that you enjoyed yourself at our B&B and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the most amazing stay with Claire and Brian at their beautiful home, Mountain View, where I was for a wedding. Everything was up to the most incredible standards and they couldn't have been a more welcoming couple if they had tried - from tea and cake on arrival - to dropping me at various venues over the weekend. I felt like I was at home or staying with close friends. The room was so comfortable and I wished I could take the shower home with me. This was without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Claire and Brian were always on hand to advise where was best to go in the area, what to do, to lend an iron or offer another cup of tea. It was a very special weekend all in all and I would definitely go and stay with this lovely couple again! It such a beautiful place - definitely worth a visit!

Thanks Claire and Brian for being superstars.

Laura, 28, London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
What a great review. We were so pleased that you thought so highly of us and can assure you that the sentiment was mutual. It is so nice when someone comes to our area for the first time and enjoys what it has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our second stay at this amazing bed and breakfast. And my did the owners, Brian and Claire, exceed our already high expectations. Everything about our stay here was flawless. The full breakfast we received each morning filled me up till dinner time ( a miracles say anyone who knows me). Brian and Claire gave 120% into making everything perfect for us. So my tips when here are some must-dos ; have a Seaweed bath at Soaks, get a window seat at Mauds, enjoy the promenade and loads of ice-cream!

Room Tip: Both rooms are brilliant, the one at left hand side is even quieter. I dont mean the one on rhs is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We were highly delighted to received such a glowing report and enjoyed having you all to stay with us again. It makes it all worth while. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.