We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe just an overpriced cafe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Percy French

Percy French
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe just an overpriced cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Called in for a late lunch on a cold day, looked round and felt, apart from seats at the fire, the place had no atmosphere. The furnishing were as if this was the dumping ground for "Hastings Hotels" old furniture from their hotels,
Was shown to a table in an area that looked as if it hasn't seen paint in number of years and nothing matched,
Service was friendly but slow and the food was overpriced for what you get. I had the burger and chips and got a basic burger at the price of a steak not what I expected. In short This as if the Percy French relies on the good name of the Parent company and knows it has little competition, a disappointment and won't be back

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your visit to the Percy French.

It is always disappointing to hear that a customer has not enjoyed their visit, however, as part of our continuous improvement policy, we will endeavour to make the necessary changes in order to reach our full potential.

I was pleased to read that the service you experienced was friendly and we will ensure that we continue to build on our customer service skills so that we provide the best service to all visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    83
    51
    45
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Located on the hotel grounds it is a nice pub, it has a lovely open fire, but not to many about when we were there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Percy French.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the Percy French and hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice food - relaxed venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were staying in the Slieve Donard and we wanted to eat somewhere less formal, so went for Percy French. It is so easy to walk to from the hotel and is much bigger than it looks from the outside! Service was very good and you couldn't complain. I had the chicken curry and it was nice, but not great. Just a very 'normal' curry. My sister had fillet of beef which she said was delicious, so that is super! The baileys cheesecake was ok, but have tasted a lot nicer!! Bit disappointed as love trying new flavours and dishes, but would probably try it if I was every back that direction!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Percy French.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your visit to the Percy French. We really appreciate your comments on the service and atmosphere and will share them with our staff.

We are constantly striving towards the highest possible standards so will pass your comments on the cheesecake and curry on to the Chef so that they may endeavour to improve upon these dishes. I am pleased that your sister enjoyed her fillet of beef.

On your next visit to Newcastle I do hope you visit us at the Percy French.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Against all Odds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gets a bad name - stopped for something to eat on friday night - very good meal. reasonably priced, staff do try - we had a good evening. Would try it again!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Percy French.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate our customers taking the time to comment on the service and meals we provide and use all reviews as a tool in order to improve.

We look foward to welcoming you back to the Percy French on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like the atmosphere and the view on the sea. Food is good, traditional, fresh. The place is ideal with children.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_JT, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Percy French I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal.

I am glad that you enjoyed our amazing view of the sea. The Percy French enjoys unrivalled views over the sea and many of our customers come time and again to sit at their favourite table and wile away the hours with a drink or meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Percy French.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Percy French also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Percy French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Percy French, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.