We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Enniskeen Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enniskeen Country House Hotel
Save
You added Enniskeen Country House Hotel to your Saves list
98, Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

booked into enniskeen hotel for one night on 27th september with 12 more family members the hotel is totally outdated bar service poor smell of damp in bar bedrooms were basic and cold breakfast was ok even though they stopped serving it at 9.30am and night porter very rude would not recommend this hotel to anyone. i would gladly pay the extra to stay in slieve donard needless to say would never be back.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with aspects of your time here and I thankyou for bringing these issues to our attention.Please be assured that all issues will be carefully considered by management and addressed with all relevant staff, as we strive to continually improve our service and offering.Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bangor co. down
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have stayed at the enniskeen hotel twice, both times having a truly relaxing break, the hotel is old and quaint, a place that time has forgotten. The grounds are immaculate and i would recommend you take a stroll around (weather permitting). The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable, we had breakfast each morning which was cooked to order and was ample, the evening meal was delicious. We were very lucky with the weather, sitting on the veranda, taking in the breathtaking views, peace on earth. The enniskeen is an ideal location for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life, we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We appreciate your time taken to review our hotel, it is rewarding to know you enjoyed your stay and will return.
Our team will continue to work hard to ensure you enjoy each and every stay.Looking forward to
welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of days on touring Co. Down.Lovely Edwardian country house hotel. We stayed in room 4, with its fabulous 50`s pink en-suite bathroom!
The staff were very efficient and friendly. Food was really great if not adventurous.
Lovely setting in large gardens and next to Tullymore Forest Park.
Good value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Many thanks for your time spent sending this review. We do value guest feedback and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at The Enniskeen every summer for the last 5 years with my children and absolutely love it here. This peaceful hotel is set in beautiful grounds overlooking the Mourne Mountains and is a short distance from Newcastle and Tollymore Forest. The staff are so friendly and accomodating where nothing is too much trouble. The food is consistently of a very high standard and homemade. The meat is very good quality and the desserts are delicious!!! The bedrooms are clean and provide everything you need whilst you stay. If you want to experience a little bit of good traditional Irish hospitality where the service is attentive, efficient and friendly then this will be hard to beat. This hotel is a rare diamond and one l cant recommend high enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Many thanks for your time and valuable feedback.We are bowled over with your high praise, but
will not become complacent.
We intend to continue to work hard to maintain high standards and welcome you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Tues-Thurs this week as a romantic 2nd honeymoon. When we rang to book the lady on the phone was so pleasant and helpful, and when we arrived she was so welcoming. This hotel is set in a peaceful setting with breathtaking views of the Mournes and the sea. It is about 1 mile to Newcastle promenade. Our room was traditional, very clean and comfortable with wonderfuls views. We had a Tv, tea/coffee facilities and a lovely ensuite. The food was lovely, home made and we ended up having dinner in the hotel both nights. (banoffee esp nice) The service was excellent and breakfast again was delicious with all the tea,toast and ulster fry arrving at the same time!! We sat in the lounge in the evening with friends and enjoyed a quiet drink. There is free internet access. The main thing about this hotel is it is homely, friendly and attentive staff, and quiet. The decor could be described a 'vintage' but thats what makes it so idealic. Ideal for a romantic break. Not really for children. Definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many thanks for your review, our staff members feel great satisfaction in knowing you enjoyed your stay so much that you will return again soon.
We all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Co Louth Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family of eight have just enjoyed the best two days in this hotel, it is relaxing, comfortable and clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent, something for everyone's taste, even the one vegetarian among us. All four bedrooms had everything that was required plus views. The hotel is near enough to the town of Newcastle, which suited the teenagers and Wi-fi in reception was an added bonus. I look forward to staying at the Enniskeen again and taking full advantage of the many beautiful walks in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review, our staff members delight in knowing you enjoyed
your stay!.
The encouragement of your positive experiences helps us to measure the success of hard work and dedication.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The very relaxed atmosphere cleverly disguises all the hard work that goes into creating it. An unusual feature was that the age range of the other guests during our visit spanned about 90 years and all seemed equally at ease and well provided for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thankyou for your review, each customer experience is unique and valuable in directing our team of staff to concentrate on what really matters. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enniskeen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enniskeen Country House Hotel

Address: 98, Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enniskeen Country House hotel; a mountainside hideaway, this family-run hotel rests in the lush Shimna Valley just outside Newcastle Co Down; Explore the hotels stunning 12 acre estate and winding woodland trail down to the Shimna river; And enjoy the striking views over Northern Ireland's highest mountain Slieve Donard and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enniskeen Country House Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enniskeen Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.