We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel worth visiting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Denvir's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denvir's Hotel
Save
You added Denvir's Hotel to your Saves list
14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Downpatrick
bangor
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“hotel worth visiting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

ATTENTION.

Disregard warning of several hears ago. This hotel is now owned by Botanic Inns and has been tastefully updated. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. It is also quiet, no noisy buildings opposite. Staff are vey friendly, restaurant serves excellent fare from a varied menu.
Only minor complaint, no breakfast menu so you need to know what you want. No complaints with the ulster breakfast.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
21
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

went to denver's hotel on the attention of staying one night.but after having a pint in the bar thought better of it, the bar staff were the most arrogant bunch of misfits I've ever come across, specially the large moustache barman....went to the toilet left haft a pint on the bar counter were i was sitting, came back ,haft pint was gone. asked moustache barman were my drink was. he give no explanation, so i left ..stay well clear!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Took kids away for a few days prior to returning to school, with five kids in tow family friendly and value for money are priorities for us . Denvirs scored highly on both counts ! Icould go on about the food which was fab and great value, ten pounds for main course and cinema ticket was the kids favourite ! Brought mother and took two rooms , both rooms very spacious and very big beds loads of room for us all , very comfortable all slept well no noise problems .Spent a great night in the bar, table quiz and nibbles , great craic difficult to leave!!Breakfast was delicious, proper ulster fry. There was loads for families to do in the area, our fav was the county down museum 2 mins walk from hotel very impressive .We had a very memorable 2 days in denvirs greatly enhanced by how welcoming and friendly the staff were to us and our crazy little gang!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Hotel established in 1642. Looks it. Warning: there are NO blow dryers at this hotel...unbelievable! Must be known for the food (very good) not the rooms (funky, dim lighting,and no one has dusted under those beds in quite a while!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The room is large, and the hotel has a history to show - two-foot walls, exposed beams,creaky wooden floors - all around nice. Irish breakfast was great, and there were no noise issues, nor broken bottles in the street, as mentioned in one of the other reviews.

Some minor problems, however: the small yard can hold 3 cars at most (one of those will be blocking the others). Ours was the blocking car; we went for a walk and I offered to the staff to leave my key in case someone wants to leave and they need to move the car, but they refused to take it, and when we came back (half a hour later) a woman has been looking for us already. Better park on the street - a hundred meters past the hotel, towards the cathedral, there's ample space.

The TV was tiny and ancient, and apparently not held down by anything - it sat on a swivel arm and didn't look secured at all.

last but not least, the breakfast is supposed to start at 8. We went down at 8 and discovered someone was not in yet, so we went for a walk, returned, waited some more while sipping tea, and finally put our forks to business around half an hour later.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My partner and I arrived at Denvir's for a Saturday night get away from Belfast. We arrived and were met at the reception and shown to our room. We were on the top floor at the front of the building (room 6 I think) and it was freezing outside on arrival. When I heard we were on the top floor I expected it to be cold in the room because the building is over 400 years old and I didn't expect it to be well insulated. I was wrong, we went in and even with the window open to air the room it was lovely and toasty warm inside. The room itself was lovely, having some old heavy 'traditional' style dressers etc and a single and double bed. Both the beds were 'Sleigh' Beds in style and looked lovely. The matresses were made from memory foam and were so comfortable with big luxurious duvets and fluffy pillows. The next morning it was like waking up in a cloud! We had booked a table in the restaurant and we were very pleased with both the quality of food and of service in the restaurant. After dinner we asked a member of staff where else there was to go for a drink in Downpatrick and we were directed to a couple of other bars. On returning to the hotel later we heard there was a band playing, they were called 'The Screaming iPods' . This was in the function room at the back of the building and on paying the admission charge we managed to find a table near the dance floor. Needless to say the place filled up quickly and we were soon up dancing with everyone. It was a great night and we were happy to see our beds at the end pf the night! We both slept like logs and woke up the next morning feeling slightly fuzzy, nothing to do with the alcohol the night before! We had breakfast, bacon, eggs, toast and coffee, in the bar the next morning and whilst we were the only people doing so the staff member was very attentive and asked if we had enjoyed our stay. All in all a great night in a lovely place. The only minor gripe is that the bathroom/ensuite could do with a little upgrading to bring them up to the standard of the rest of the accommodation, but other than that a lovely place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Very friendly staff and the place is full of character! Rooms basic but adequate. Fantastic Ulster Fry for breakfast, which was needed after a session in the bar the night before. Great craic, would recommend for a stress-free break. Only let down by limited car parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denvir's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denvir's Hotel

Address: 14 - 16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country home away from home! Established in 1642, Denvir's Hotel is steeped in history and is the perfect setting for a relaxing break. Offering old world charm in the heart of Downpatrick, Denvir's has a long tradition of sheltering travellers and will endeavour to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one. Now part of the award winning Botanic Inns group, Denvir’s is the oldest surviving coaching inn in Ireland and is now a grade ‘A’ listed building. The building itself has been extensively and sympathetically renovated while retaining its original character. With six attractive and beautifully restored bedrooms, a restaurant, lounge and snug bars as well as two function rooms for hire; there are many reasons to visit Denvir’s. All of Downpatrick's best historical attractions are located on the same road as Denvirs. St Patricks Grave, The Catherdral and the Gaol are all located on English Street. So we're in the heart of the action! We look forward to welcoming you to Denvir's Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denvirs Hotel Downpatrick
Denvir's Hotel Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denvir's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.