We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Save
You added Ballydugan Mill to your Saves list
Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Belfast, N.I
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at The Mill back in March this year. It was the third potential venue we visited and we immediately fell in love with the building itself and the warm, friendly atmosphere created by all the staff (especially Maureen,Noel,Elaine and Mary!).
We were so well looked after from the outset and the planning of our wedding celebration seemed effortlessly easy with the help of all the staff.
We had several Sunday lunches at The Mill during the run up to our wedding and the food was outstanding every time,always impressed!
We really cannot thank the staff enough for helping to create such a beautiful day for us and our guests.
We regularly return for lunch in front of the gorgeous open fire and always receive the same warm welcome.
Full of character and the best service, a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    7
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
42
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ok, so we've just celebrated our first wedding anniversary and realised that we never wrote a review, until now.
Quite simply, The Mill is the most incredible place. From the first moment we walked through the door, we were made to feel at home. Noel, the proprietor, is the most wonderful character. He told us the story of The Mill and how he has transformed it into the beautiful building it is today. And then there's Maureen. Maureen ran our wedding, was the MC, and even helped with the engagement! (Upon contacting Maureen a few days before I was planning to propose at The Mill, Maureen went out of her way to help - she arranged for the chef to come in specially that day to cook for us, as well as play along with the plan).
If you haven't already been here, The Mill is the most charming of places. A friendly, warm, welcoming atmosphere, full of character - we really couldn't imagine having our wedding reception anywhere else. Oh, and did we mention the food?! Absolutely amazing.
Aside from the uniqueness of the building, the whole team at The Mill go a long way to help make it so incredible. They really can't do enough for you. We even ended the night sitting round a table with them, sharing a drink and chatting.
All of our guests who stayed at the venue remarked on the brilliant accommodation: warm, relaxing, well-equipped rooms. And the breakfast the next day - a gorgeous full Ulster fry!
We really can't thank the team at The Mill enough for making our big day so special. We will always have the fondest memories of our experience here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stopped at the mill for a friends wedding and had a lovely time. The wedding food was fantastic, the staff excellent and the setting lovely. Our room was a twin but really two double rooms linked with an ensuite shower/toilet and a second toilet, just could have done with an easy chair and an extra blanket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Mill is a brilliant place to have any event. food is out of this world ,the staff are even better ,the building is outstanding,the surrounding area is beautiful !! I had my wedding here and cannot fault the mill in any way .greatly priced and excellent all round,theres even a lift to make life easy,brilliant place!!!

Room Tip: its all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed twice, once for a "getaway", the other times after functions. Called several other times for a bite to eat.

This place is absolutely lovely and great credit to its owners and the team who run it. I would very highly recommend it for a "getaway" place, situated out in beautiful countryside within easy reach of the beaches in the area, or for an unusual venue for meetings or the like. As for weddings, I cannot think of a better place. A relative of mine attended a wedding here and said it was one of the best she was ever at. having been in Ballydugan Mill, I can see why.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We got married on 6th September 2013 and it was a fabulous day! The staff are friendly, fun and fabulous! Lol! Mary and Maureen made us so happy and feel right at home right from the very start! We always felt relaxed wen we went to visit and wud even give ya hugs when u arrive! :) our wedding day went without a hitch....it was fun, relaxed, friendly and homely! The food was gorgeous! I cud without a doubt live in the mill all the time! Lol! I would recommend the mill to anyone!xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had our wedding reception in Ballydugan Mill on Saturday 3rd August and as the title says, it was the best day of our lives. On the run up to our wedding, the staff at the mill were amazing, I was dealing with Maureen in particular and she was an angel, helping me with anything I needed and nothing was ever a bother to her. On the day, the mill looked spectacular, there is no other wedding venue like this in Northern Ireland, its got so much charm and character. My guests were warmly welcomed by the staff and all commented on the relaxed and informal nature of the venue. The food was delicious, everyone cleared their plates! Bacon salad, roast beef and yorkshire puds, followed by Bailey's cheesecake - all fantastic! The service of the food and drink was excellent and done with military precision!
The party at night was rocking! and the good times and drink flowed. A lot of our guests stayed over and all commented on the cleanliness and comfort of their rooms and all had a good nights sleep and wakened to a full ulster fry in the morning. All in all, I couldn't recommend Ballydugan Mill enough as a wedding venue, the staff make it very special and I will never forget all that you did for us. Thank you - Mr & Mrs Mason xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballydugan Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.