We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Save
You added Ballydugan Mill to your Saves list
Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had our wedding in the mill on 29th December 2012 and couldn't have chosen a better spot. Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in to view the venue until the moment we had to reluctantly leave when it was all over.
All the staff were great fun and instantly put myself, the other half and my mother at ease (not an easy task) and were open to all suggestions and ideas we had. The chef was very attentive and the food on the day was fabulous! It was a brilliant way to end a year long diet :)
On the day Maureen was brilliant. She has a wonderful easy going nature which is contagious and put everyone in the mood for a great evening. The running of the day was completely smooth. we were entirely trusting that the staff would deliver and they did; to an extremely high standard. Lots of guests have commented on the high standard of service and some visiting from England were completely charmed when they popped in the day before for a drink and were greeted in an extremely friendly manner and made to feel completely welcome.
The venue itself is spectacular and was decorated beautifully saving me a lot of money and worry. The layout is wonderful with three different levels for each part of the day meaning you get to continue to surprise your guests.
If you are looking for a unique venue with natural charm, gorgeous food and a fabulous family atmosphere then this is the place for you.
Thank you all so much for such a brilliant day. Wish we could do it all again xx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    22
    7
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
42
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From lisa - " What an experience at the Mill at Ballyduggan for our wedding. It truely could not have been better. The staff were amazing from start of organisation to the end of the day in fact into the next day after the wedding. They made us laugh and took care of all our needs. I felt like they said Yes to everything. The place is so warm and inviting, rustic and wonderful. It was super to be able to have our guests stay over and enjoy breakfast and lunch with us the following day. The food was the best I have had in a resturant in a long time that includes london restaurants and international travel, so expect pure deliciousness from the Mill. The staff however top it all off.. they made the day so special and were so accomodating with everything. My mum has advanced alzhiemers and is restricted to home however the staff made her very comfortable and she was able to attend the wedding and stay over night in the beautiful bedrooms and have sing songs for her at the grand fireplace the next day... you really cant beat that. I was delighted with my entire experience at the Mill. I totally recommend you to have this experience for whatever event you plan. "

From Gaea "I agree with everything Lisa says , it was truley a beautiful day from start to finish. Maureen was amazing, even helping us with pre ceremony tears. The staff could not do enough for us and all our our guests commented on the beauty of the venue and how smoothly the day went if your planning a civil partnership, wedding or any type of celebration do it at the mill ! "

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My son took pictures of the mill when he and his fiancé saw the the building for the first time. We didn't see it ourselves until the day before the wedding and it was then that we realised the photos didn't do the venue justice. It was stunning.

The venue was booked originally for the reception and evening party, however due to circumstances the wedding service was held there too. The ground floor was beautifully set up and the service held in front of a roaring fire. After the service finished whilst a few photographs were taken outside the staff quickly laid out tables and chairs and served coffee and biscuits whilst more photos were taken.

The menu for the reception was not the Mills standard offering but tailored to the request of the bride and groom with special meals for the children (and at least 1 adult). Nothing was too much trouble to make the day exactly the way that the bride and groom wanted it.

The party in the evening was also excellent.

Maureen was ever present making the day run smoothly and an excellent day was had by all.

Many of the guests stayed the night in the Mill's accommodation and were served an excellent breakfast before we all departed on the Sunday morning.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mill for any event.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were all impressed with the food and the atmosphere at Ballybougan Mill. However, we had a few concerns. We did not like the mention it when we were there but one member of our party who had ordered steak found two hairs in her main course and I also found a hair in my starter. We understood that this could have just been bad luck on our part so we did not want to make it into an issue. Another concern which we had was the lady who served us at the table. When she thought we hadn't booked a table she was rather rude to us, and then when serving us at the table, although she was notably friendlier, she actually said [--] in conversation. We were all rather taken aback.



Up the stairs is beautiful, but perhaps it was bad timing again on our part as we thought it was rather dirty. My sister leaned against the bar and her hand stuck to it, we also noticed how dirty the windows were and it was hard to see out through a number of them. We were also concerned as there would be small children attending, about the wires we could see hanging loose in the dining area. For £1000 room hire we did not expect to see these things. I was concerned that this was not a fair representation of Ballydougan Mill, so looked up reviews, many of which voicing the same issues as we had.



We realise that all these concerns could be fixed but because of the reasons above we all decided that perhaps, contrary to our initial thoughts, this is not the best place we could choose for our special day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just cannot say enough about the MIll And all it's staff. We got married at the mill on the 12/12/12 and from the moment we booked it, Maureen and Noel could not do enough for us. Maureen is an absolute gem who actually made me feel totally relaxed coming up to the day as she gave straight advice in relation to food etc. We all stayed overnight and the rooms were very spacious and absolutely in keeping with the Mill, the apartments located across the courtyard were perfect for families, so quiet and peaceful and knowing that it is only your friends and family going to be there was perfect. My uncle who is in a wheelchair was catered for as the whole mill is very easy to get around as there is a lift and also a room that the wheelchair could easily get in through, so all in all my guests were delighted.
The food was fantastic so thank you Andy and to get up early the next morning for our honeymoon and have breakfast served to us at 8am was really appreciated.
All I can say is if you are considering a venue for your wedding, there is no where else you should go, only the MIll at Ballydugan. The location is stunning, the rooms are beautifully appointed and in keeping with the feel of the mill, you know from being in the mill that Noel and his family love this place and it is clear why. Maureen we appreciated everything you did for us and enjoyed your company also, thank you for an amazing day, without you it would not have been possible. Xxx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently attended a wedding at the Ballydugan Mill. We never expected it to be such a great location for a wedding. There were around 50 of us and it had everything you would want all int he one location. Traditional and charming place. My only critisim would be that they did not have enough food for the evening buffet, the last 5 people didnt get any food and they ran out of Guinness. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I decided to book a room at the Mill as I was booked for a night out and planned having a few.

I arrived in this quiet corner of Co Down and found a charming old mill building which was warm and cosy inside. I received a warm welcome from the staff and then headed to my room. Rustic would be the best way to describe it. I mean that in a positive way. The bare stone walls, wooden shutters and best of all, near absolute silence except for the river which I found most soothing. Everything was clean and I couldn't complain one bit about the room, having a comfortable and deep sleep that night.

The meal I had was a with a group of about 50 and the service was excellent. Food was served quickly to the whole group and the staff were a credit to The Mill. The food itself was of a very high standard and there was plenty of it.

On heading down for breakfast next morning, there was a choice of cereals, juice and cooked breakfast. I took the cooked option and it was hot and tasty, egg done to a turn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballydugan Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.